NCRA Sprints Set for a Sunday of Labor Atop the Belleville High Banks!

2011 NCRA National Championship Racing Association logo

By David Smith Jr.

– Park City, Kansas – August 28, 2011 – Current series point leader C. J. Johnson is one of only two drivers in the top five of the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Smiley’s Racing Products sprint car division point standings who has yet to claim a victory on the 2011 season. The second generation sprint car driver from Quinter, Kansas hopes to change all that this coming Sunday night over Labor Day weekend as the tour makes their first and only appearance on the season at the Belleville High Banks in Belleville, Kansas.

The series modified and both late model and Great Plains late model divisions will also be racing on this action packed night of NCRA racing on the famed half mile high banks.

Despite having yet reached victory lane this season, Johnson does hold a 95 point lead over former five-time champion Garry Lee Maier of Dodge City, Kansas. Maier is one of nine different drivers to have reached victory lane in the ten events that have been held thus far.

Two drivers are tied for the third position in the point standings and with four events still on the current schedule, both still have a legitimate shot at claiming the 2011 series championship. Jason Martin of Liberal, Kansas and 2008 champion Mike Peters of Wichita sit 210 points out of the lead. Both drivers have reached victory lane this season.

Patrick Stasa of Kingman, Kansas is having one of the best seasons of his young career and is getting closer to his first ever series victory. Stasa currently sits a solid fifth in the point standings.

Luke Cranston of Plains, Kansas sits solidly in the sixth spot of the point standings while defending series champion Jeremy Campbell of Wichita finally got the monkey off of his back as he picked up the victory in the tours most recent stop at Mid-Nebraska Speedway in Doniphan two weeks ago. He currently sits seventh in the standings.

Rounding out the top ten in the points are Turpin, Oklahoma’s Taylor Velasquez, Jeff Stasa and current series rookie of the year leader Kris Miller of Woodward, Oklahoma.

In the last appearance for the sprint car tour at the Belleville High Banks at this event last year it was Chad Humston of Giltner, Nebraska claiming the victory.

As mentioned, eight different drivers have reached victory lane in the nine events that have been completed on the 2011 race schedule. Danny Lasoski of Dover, Missouri is the only repeat winner with both of his triumphs coming at 81 Speedway in Park City. Other feature winners thus far this season include Ryan Roberts (Dodge City Raceway Park), Jack Dover (The Great American Dirt Track in Jetmore, Kansas), Brady Bacon (The Great American Dirt Track), Jordan Boston (Hutchinson Grand Nationals) and the afore mentioned Maier (RPM Speedway in Hays), Martin (The Great American Dirt Track) Peters (81 Speedway) and Campbell.

Gates open at 6:00 PM with hot laps starting at 6:30 PM. Races are set for a 7:30 PM start time. Tickets are 20 for adults while kids ages fourteen and under are just $5. All pit passes are $25. The Belleville High Banks is located 2.0 miles north of US 36 on US 81, then 0.4 mile southeast on M St. to 7th St., then 0.1 mile east (near the water tower, at the North Central Kansas Fairgrounds).

For more information on the NCRA of Park City, Kansas presented by Smiley’s Racing Products sprint car division, contact the series office (316) 755-1781. You can also find all information regarding the series historical past and present at

The series would like to thank the following for their partnership with the sprint car tour for the 2011 race season:

Official Sponsors: Park City, Kansas, Smiley’s Racing Products, Hoosier Racing Tires and Sunoco Race Fuels.

Contingency Sponsors: The Brake Man, Saldana Racing Products

Current 2011 NCRA Sprint Car Point Standings:

1) C.J. Johnson 2780, 2) Garry Lee Maier 2685, 3) Jason Martin and Mike Peters 2570, 5) Patrick Stasa 2490, 6) Luke Cranston 2385, 7) Jeremy Campbell 2290, 8) Taylor Velasquez 2135, 9) Jeff Stasa 1985, 10) Kris Miller 1925