Humston Hammers in NCRA Sprint Stop at the Belleville High Banks!


Belleville, KS – (September 4, 2011) – “I love this place.” Those were the words of Chad Humston as the Giltner, Nebraska driver wired the field to record his second series triumph in as many attempts as the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Smiley’s Racing Products sprint car division made their first and only appearance of the season at the Belleville High Banks in Belleville, Kansas in a Sunday night, Labor Day weekend event in which three of the series divisions competed before a near standing room only crowd.

Humston started on the pole for the twenty lap feature with A.J. Selenke starting alongside. Only one lap would be completed before the race quickly went to caution as Ty Williams and J.D. Johnson tangled entering turn one with both drivers coming to a stop.

The attempted restart quickly went to red flag conditions for a four car tangle which involved Selenke, Cody Forshee, Don Droud, Jr. and Jordan Boston with only Boston able to make it back to the lineup.

Once racing action resumed, Humston again pulled out front with eighth starting Garry Lee Maier of Dodge City, Kansas giving chase.

Only one lap was completed before Liberal, Kansas driver Jason Martin came to a stop on the backstretch.

Humston, aboard the #1M Mark Burch Motorsports/Hoosier Tire Great Plains/Smiley’s Racing Products/CTR Investments sponsored Wolf Weld Chassis sprinter, got the jump on the restart and quickly opened a ten car length lead.

Defending series champion Jeremy Campbell of Wichita, Kansas, aboard his #10c sprinter, got the jump on Maier on the restart for the runner up position and set his sights on the leader. But with no caution flags the final eighteen laps it was clear sailing for Humston as he made quick work of the lapped cars and cruised to victory to become the eleventh different series winner in the twelve races that have been held thus far this season.

“I had a little problem with one of the lapped cars but nothing to major,” said Humston. “The pole was actually where I wanted to start the race as I could set the pace and get the jump on the start. This place is so wide open and fast, I love racing here.”

Campbell would finish fifteen car lengths behind for the runner up position while Maier settled for third. Tyler Drueke came home a solid fourth while Patrick Stasa rounded out the top five.

After being involved in the caution to start the race, J.D. Johnson, who originally started seventeenth before restarting at the tail of the field, worked his way up through the field to come home seventh.

The eight lap heat races for the twenty car field were won by Humston, P. Stasa and Selenke.

Motor problems plagued former series champion Mike Peters all night long. After suffering engine woes in hot laps, Peters missed his heat race and had lined up for the feature finale. However, while lining up for the parade lap, the motor finally expired ending his night.

The next event for the NCRA sprint car division will be a two night event at I-80 Speedway in Greenwood, Nebraska as the series takes on the ASCS Midwest Region in the “NCRA/ASCS Midwest Region Shootout with both nights a complete show paying $3000 to win with $400 just to start the feature finale.

For more information on the 41st anniversary season for the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas presented by Smiley’s Racing Products, find them at their new online address or call the series office (316) 755-1781.

The series would like to take this time to thank their sprint car partners and sponsors for the 2011 race season:

Park City, Kansas, Smiley’s Racing Products, Hoosier Racing Tires, Sunoco Race Fuels

Contingency Sponsors: Saldana Racing Products, The Brake Man

1st Heat: 1) Chad Humston 2) Cody Forshee 3) Ty Williams 4) Jordan Boston 5) Don Droud, Jr. 6) Jordan Weaver 7) Kris Miller

2nd Heat: 1) Patrick Stasa 2) C.J. Stasa 3) Jason Martin 4) Luke Cranston 5) Jeff Stasa 6) J.D. Johnson 7) Taylor Milton

3rd Heat: 1) A.J. Selenke 2) Tyler Drueke 3) Garry Lee Maier 4) Jeremy Campbell 5) Marc Robe DNS: Mike Peters

A Feature: 1) 1m Chad Humston 2) 10c Jeremy Campbell 3) 1x Garry Lee Maier 4) 12 Tyler Drueke 5) 19 Patrick Stasa 6) 20 Luke Cranston 7) 98 J.D. Johnson 8) 45x C.J. Johnson 9) 24a Jordan Boston 10) 91t Taylor Milton 11) 99 Marc Robe 12) 91 Jeff Stasa 13) 1 Ty Williams 14) 33 Kris Miller 15) 4 Jordan Weaver 16) 36 Jason Martin 17) 43 A.J. Selenke 18) 3x Cody Forshee 19) 2 Don Droud, Jr. 20) 51 Mike Peters