ASCS Midwest Set for JMS and Eagle this Weekend

ASCS Midwest Region American Sprint Car Series Logo

By Lonnie Wheatley
TULSA, Okla. (September 6, 2011) – The Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region takes to a pair of Nebraska tracks this weekend for two added-money events. The series takes to McCool Junction’s Junction Motor Speedway on Saturday night before finishing off the weekend at Eagle Raceway on Sunday night.

Saturday’s card at Junction Motor Speedway offers up a $3,000 winner’s share, while Sunday’s Nebraska Cup at Eagle includes a $5,000 winner’s share along with more than $2,000 in lap money.

With just the ASCS Midwest season-ending double at I-80 on September 16-17 remaining after this weekend’s pair of events, Springfield, Nebraska’s Jack Dover has a virtual lock on his second series title.

Dover, who topped the ASCS Warrior Region in this past weekend’s Lake Ozark Speedway Nationals, holds a 452-point lead over Colorado’s Bryan Gossel entering this weekend. Dover posted an ASCS win at Eagle Raceway earlier this year over the Lucas Oil Sprint Car National forces in the track’s annual Eagle Nationals.

While Dover holds a commanding Midwest points lead, Gossel is just 23 points ahead of Lincoln’s Jordan Boston for second with Lee Grosz and Wayne Johnson rounding out the current top five.

A number of top contenders from throughout the area are expected for both nights of competition this weekend. Jason Johnson won both September events at McCool Junction and Eagle last year.

Saturday’s action at Junction Motor Speedway is set to go green at 7:00 p.m., with Sunday’s Nebraska Cup at Eagle Raceway firing off at 6:30 p.m.

Junction Motor Speedway is located 5.6 miles south of York, NE, off I-80 Exit 353 on US 81, then 0.3 miles west on CR 4. For more information, contact the track at 402-773-5538 or on race day only at 402-724-3100.

Eagle Raceway is located in Eagle, NE, off I-80 Exit 420, then 11 miles south to SR 63, then west. For more information, contact the track at 402-781-2243 or 402-238-2595.

The Speedway Motors ASCS Midwest Region is slated for 22 nights of competition at a seven throughout Nebraska and the surrounding areas of Missouri, South Dakota, Iowa and Minnesota.

The inaugural season of Speedway Motors Warrior Region action under the ASCS banner currently consists of 17 nights of competition at nine different tracks throughout Missouri and into Kansas.

Past ASCS Midwest Region Winners at Junction Motor Speedway:
6/30/11 – Chad Humston
5/27/11 – Danny Lasoski
9/11/10 – Jason Johnson
7/1/10 – Chad Humston
5/28/10 – Ryan Roberts
5/22/09 – Shane Stewart
6/27/08 – Brian Brown
6/29/07 – Brian Brown
5/25/07 – Garry Lee Maier
6/30/06 – Brian Brown
5/26/06 – Jake Peters
5/27/05 – Jason Danley

Past ASCS Midwest Region Winners at Eagle Raceway:
6/11/11 – Jack Dover (with National)
9/12/10 – Jason Johnson
6/12/10 – Jason Johnson (with National)
6/11/10 – Danny Wood (with National)
9/12/09 – Tony Bruce, Jr.
9/7/08 – Jack Dover
7/19/08 – Jack Dover
7/21/07 – Mike Boston
7/22/06 – Wade Nygaard

The 2011 season marks the 20th year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, with approximately 200 nights of competition at tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series presented by K&N Filters, ASCS also consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at
Posted 9/6/2011