Johnson Wins Southern Thunder Sprints Feature at Sabine

sts Southern Thunder Sprints Logo

From STS

Many, LA — (March 3, 2012) — Ty Johnson picked up the Southern Thunder Sprints season opener at Sabine Motor Speedway.

It was a wild night as early race leader and outside pole sitter Matt Ebarb driving the #10 Time-It Lube mount appeared to be enroute to his first sprint win as he held off the #13 of Justin Witt in the Witt’s Powder Coating entry. But Ebarb’s run came to an end as he ran out fuel while leading, causing Witt to take evasive action only to flip his mount ending his night as well. Witt walked away uninjured. Ty Johnson inherited the lead with the #6volt of Cody Harger in the Interstate Batteries sprinter applying pressure hard. While in lap traffic chasing Johnson, Harger’s night ended as he hit the stalled car of Regan Hawkins in her #30 Brad’s Transmissions entry in turn 4 disabling his rear end. On the restart it was Johnson, #22L Kent Lewis, and #7 Cody Robbins leading the way. As the laps clicked off Johnson held on to take the win as Robbins beat Lewis to the line to take 2nd.