Last Lap Pass Propels Danny Wood to Lucas Oil ASCS Triumph

Danny Wood used lapped traffic to his advantage to make the last lap pass to capture the $4,000 payday at Cocopah Speedway in Yuma, Arizona. Photo Credit: Randy Hoeft (N2PHOTOgraphics)

From Bryan Hulbert

Yuma, AZ — (March 10, 2012) —  Jason Johnson may have
shown the way on lap twenty-nine but the only lap worth leading is the
last lap and Danny Wood was the man leading when the checkered flag
flew on lap thirty at Cocopah Speedway in Yuma, Arizona.

“I seen  him [Johnson] up there in traffic and I could see it was
holding him up a little bit” commented Danny Wood in victory lane. “I
was trying to be patient and not get held up by anybody, you know stay
out of trouble and just run a smooth race. It’s better to be able to
run second in these situations”

Starting the feature from outside the front row, the 81 of Wood would
settle into the runner up spot as Johnny Herrera took off into the
race lead only to see the caution wave for a three car tangle on the
opening lap.

On the restart Herrera would again take off into the race lead as Wood
was left to contend with the hard charging Jason Johnson. Wasting no
time, the Roush Yates 41 of Johnson began to pull up on the 81 but a
caution on lap two would force the single file restart. Back underway
with twenty-eight laps to run, the 41 of Johnson would try for the
pass on Wood only to see the caution wave again for the spun 33v of
Henry VanDam.

Back to green and the 81 would dive to the inside berm; pulling side
by side with Herrera for the race lead but the 45x was able to hold
the top spot as the 41 of Jason Johnson moved in to challenge for
second. Taking away the runner up spot with a low line pass on lap
four, the MVT 41 would waste no time clearing the Ham Construction 45x
of Herrera for the lead on lap five.

>From there it was clear sailing as Jason Johnson began to pull away to
a commanding lead while the 81 of Wood worked on taking over second
from Herrera.

Finally moving past Herrera’s 45x on lap eleven, the 81 of Wood would
find himself nearly a straight-a-way behind as the race continued to
run under green flag conditions. As the chase began to take shape,
battles in the field were brewing as the 99 of Brady Bacon worked to
hold off the 2 of Dustin Morgan and the hard charging 11 of Roger
Crockett as all three drivers battle for the sixth position with all
three drivers working on running down the 9 of Gary Wright.

With the green flag staying out, the field raced past the halfway
point with the 41 of Johnson continuing to lead. Still running a
straight-a-way back, Danny Wood began working past lapped cars while
searching all over the racing surface for a line to run down the 41.

Settling into a groove, the Statewide Services 81 would begin chipping
away at Jason Johnson’s advantage as both drivers continued to work
around slower cars. Moving to only ten laps to go it looked as though
Danny Wood was going to have to settle for the runner up spot but
lapped traffic would have something else in store.

Into the final four laps of racing, Jason Johnson would pull to the
back bumper of Matt Covington. With the 11c running right around the
bottom of the Cocopah Speedway, Johnson would find himself held up;
allowing Danny Wood to begin closing in.

Finally getting a clear shot to pass the 11c on the bottom of the race
track, the 41 would race by the white flag but it was too late as the
D&J Land 81 of Danny Wood raced to the high line with a full head of
steam; leading the field to the checkered flag for his seventh career
Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour victory. Jason Johnson would settle for
second with Johnny Herrera taking the show position. Gary Wright would
finish fourth with Wayne Johnson rounding out the top five for the
fourth consecutive time in 2012.

Roger Crocket would finally get the pass for sixth on the final lap,
earning the SKS Racing 11 the Hard Charger of the Racer
after staring eighteenth on the grid. Brady Bacon took home seventh
with Dustin Morgan, Tony Bruce Jr., and Seth Bergman rounding out the
top ten.

The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV heads next
to the famed Devil’s Bowl Speedway in Mesquite, Texas for the 39th
annual Spring Nationals on Friday March 23rd and Saturday March 24th.

Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MavTv
Cocopah Speedway – Yuma, Arizona – Night #2

Event Car Count: 26

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 9-Gary Wright[1]; 2. 81-Danny Wood[6]; 3. 5h-Logan
Forler[3]; 4. 2x-Kyle Evans[2]; 5. 90-Lance Norick[4]; 6. 87-Aaron
Reutzel[7]; 7. 2m-Mike Martin[5]; 8. 05-Brad Loyet[8]

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 98M-Mitch Olson[1]; 2. 99-Brady Bacon[2]; 3.
74x-Joshua Hodges[3]; 4. 33X-Henry VanDam[4]; 5. 50z-Zach Chappell[5];
6. 53-Jack Dover[7]; 7. 11-Roger Crockett[6]

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 77-Dalten Gabbard[1]; 2. 20z-Rick Ziehl[2]; 3.
18-Tony Bruce Jr[3]; 4. 23-Seth Bergman[6]; 5. 11c-Matt Covington[5];
6. 1x-J.T. Imperial[7]; 7. 41w-Joshua Williams[4]

B Feature (12 Laps): 1. 11c-Matt Covington[2]; 2. 11-Roger
Crockett[7]; 3. 50z-Zach Chappell[1]; 4. 53-Jack Dover[5]; 5. 05-Brad
Loyet[10]; 6. 90-Lance Norick[3]; 7. 2m-Mike Martin[8]; 8. 1x-J.T.
Imperial[9]; 9. 41w-Joshua Williams[6]; DNF 87-Aaron Reutzel[4]

A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 81-Danny Wood[2]; 2. 41-Jason Johnson[5]; 3.
45x-Johnny Herrera[1]; 4. 9-Gary Wright[6]; 5. 77x-Wayne Johnson[4];
6. 11-Roger Crockett[18]; 7. 99-Brady Bacon[9]; 8. 2-Dustin Morgan[3];
9. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[14]; 10. 23-Seth Bergman[11]; 11. 53-Jack
Dover[20]; 12. 98M-Mitch Olson[7]; 13. 11c-Matt Covington[17]; 14.
33X-Henry VanDam[15]; 15. 20z-Rick Ziehl[10]; 16. 05-Brad Loyet[21];
17. 77-Dalten Gabbard[8]; 18. 74x-Joshua Hodges[14]; 19. 2m-Mike
Martin[24]; 20. 50z-Zach Chappell[19]; 21. 90-Lance Norick[22]; 22.
5h-Logan Forler[12]; 23. 2x-Kyle Evans[16]; 24. 87-Aaron Reutzel[23]

Lap Leaders: Johnny Herrera 1-4; Jason Johnson 5-29; Danny Wood 30 Hard Charger: Roger Crockett +12

Lucas Oil ASCS present MavTv Points (top 20): 1. Jason Johnson 546; 2.
Wayne Johnson 515; 3. Brady Bacon 509; 4. Tony Bruce Jr. 495; 5.
Dustin Morgan 491; 6. Johnny Herrera 483; 7. Gary Wright 471; 8. Danny
Wood 459; 9. Seth Bergman 419; 10. Aaron Reutzel 418; 11. Roger
Crockett 413; 12. Brad Loyet 397; 13. Jack Dover 396; 14. Joshua
Hodges 388; 15. Matt Covington 386; 16. Dalten Gabbard 386; 17. Mitch
Olson 381; 18. Henry VanDam 371; 19. Zach Chappell 370; 20. Lance
Norick 360

The Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MavTV is
scheduled to compete 67 times in 15 states throughout the United
States with drivers competing for their share of a $250,000 point’s

The 2012 season marks the 21st year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing
for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint
Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and
into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil Sprint Car Series, ASCS also
consists of ten different Regions throughout the nation.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is
available at