This Saturday Night: NCRA Sprint Season Opener at 81 Speedway!

2011 NCRA National Championship Racing Association logo

By David Smith Jr.

March 26, 2012 – Midwest City, Oklahoma – This coming Saturday night the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas sprint car division will kick off their 23rd consecutive season as Sunoco Race Fuels and Hoosier Racing Tires presents “Spring Time Thunder” at the home of the series, 81 Speedway in Park City.

And what a way to kick off the 2012 race season as the nights feature finale winner will take home $4000. Just to start the twenty car field pays $400.

Two-time and defending series champion C.J. Johnson of Quinter, Kansas will be on hand to defend his series championship.

Liberal, Kansas driver Jason Martin, who finished third in the series point standings last year, will start the season off this Saturday night and if additional sponsorship can be found, will be back to contend for the championship.

Patrick Stasa of Kingman, Kansas finished a career best fourth in the series last year and will be on hand as will his brother, Jeff.

Former series champions Mike Peters and Jeremy Campbell, both of Wichita, are coming off subpar seasons and will once again compete full-time with the series this year. Campbell will be back aboard his own #10c this season.

Other series regulars expected include Luke Cranston (Plains), Kris Millers (Woodward, Oklahoma), Jon Freeman (Salina), Ty Williams (Liberal), Jake Martens (Fairview, Oklahoma), Steven Richardson (Liberal), A.J. Selenke (Wichita) and Josh Forshee (Wichita).

Former five-time series champion Garry Lee Maier of Dodge City, Kansas retired during the winter months. Veteran sprint car driver Don Droud, Jr. of Lincoln Nebraska will drive the familiar #1x Ochs Brothers owned sprinter.

Sean McClelland of Tulsa, Oklahoma will take over the driving duties of Danny and Naomi King’s #e85 sprinter for the 2012 race season and will compete for the championship as well.

A strong crop of young drivers will battle for the Brodix rookie of the year honors. They include female driver Jordan Weaver, Taylor Milton and Zach Blurton. Blurton is the son of 1990 series champion Jon Blurton.

The list of non-series regulars who have expressed their intentions on competing during the season opener is quite impressive. They include Brian Brown (Grain Valley, Missouri), Jason Johnson (Eunice, Louisiana), Wayne Johnson (Knoxville, Iowa), Danny Jennings (Norman, Oklahoma), Jack Dover (Lincoln, Missouri), Brady Bacon (Tulsa, Oklahoma), Tony Bruce, Jr. (Tulsa, Oklahoma), Dustin Morgan (Broken Arrow, Oklahoma) just to name a few.

Gates will open at 5:00 pm with racing set for a 7:00 PM start time. Mod Lites will be the support division. General admission prices are $10, $5 for children while pit passes are $25.

81 Speedway is located north of Wichita on I-135 to exit 16, then .7 mile west on 77th St. in Park City. For more race and ticket information contact the 81 Speedway office (316) 755-1781.

For more information on the 42nd anniversary season for the National Championship Racing Association of Park City, Kansas, find them at their new online address or call the series office (316) 755-1781.

The series would like to take this time to thank their sprint car division partners and sponsors for the 2012 race season:

Park City, Kansas, Hoosier Racing Tires, Sunoco Race Fuels, Vertex Magnetos, Rod End Supply, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Keizer Aluminum Wheels, The Joie of Seating, Ultra Shield, Hooker Harness, Precise Racing Products, Taylor Cable Products, XXX Racing Chassis, Super Shox, Competition Suspension, JE Racing