Cancen Oil King of the West Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear Notes & Pertinent Info

From Bob Burbach
Marysville Raceway Park – Saturday April 21


Following a rainout last week the Cancen Oil King of the West Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear will continue its 2012 season this Saturday night at Paul & Kathy Hawes’ Marysville Raceway Park. It will be just the third 410 Sprint Car event held at the track since 1999 and the third straight season that 900-horsepower Winged Sprints compete at MRP.

Reigning KWS champ Tim Kaeding brings the Roth Motorsports No. 83 KPC into Marysville as the point leader with Jonathan Allard hot on his heels in second. Last year’s race winner and track record holder at MRP, Willie Croft, will also be back to defend his home turf in the Amerikote Racing No. 29 ART.

Much of the attention on Saturday will be turned to National Sprint Car Hall of Famer Jimmy Sills, who makes his return aboard a 410 Sprint Car in California. “The Professor” has been one of the most accomplished drivers to come out of the Golden State and everyone is eagerly anticipating him getting behind the wheel of the DES Racing No. 6up this Saturday.


The pit gate opens at 3pm on Saturday, the front gate will open at 5pm and cars will be hitting the track for wheel packing around 6pm, with qualifying and racing to follow.


The Marysville Raceway Park is located in Marysville, California. From the Junction of HWY 70 and HWY 20 (12th Street), go a quarter-mile east on HWY 20. Turn south onto Ramirez Road for 1.5 miles. The physical address is 1468 Simpson Ln, Marysville, CA 95901. Directions & hotels can be found at


Adult tickets on Saturday will cost just $18 with juniors, seniors, disabled and active military $15, kids 6-12 $10 and children 5 and under free.

About the track:

The Marysville Raceway Park is a quarter-mile semi banked clay oval and has undergone a number of changes in recent years, including upgrades to the facility and a reconfiguration of the track surface. Prior to the 2010 season 410 Sprint Cars hadn’t competed at the track for 10-years. Fast time last year was set by Willie Croft with a lap of 12.111, which marked a new track record under the current configuration.

Last April with KWS at Marysville Raceway Park:

Sacramento’s “Double Down” Willie Croft made a lap-eight pass of Jonathan Allard for the lead, before holding off Tim Kaeding during a number of double-file restarts to pick up a big victory at the Marysville Raceway Park. The win was extra special for Croft, who had turned a lot of laps at the Marysville Raceway Park early in his career.

Tim Kaeding crossed the line in second with Placerville’s Andy Gregg completing the podium. Allard ended up fourth and Fremont’s Brent Bjork brought home a career best finish to round out the top-five in the Bjork Construction No. 7b mount.

Top-10 in Cancen Oil KWS presented by Goodyear points going into this Saturday night:

1. Tim Kaeding 161; 2. Jonathan Allard 159; 3. Kyle Larson 149; 4. Rico Abreu 147; 5. Bobby McMahan 144; 6. Shane Golobic 142; 7. Brent Kaeding 142; 8. Evan Suggs 141; 9. Peter Murphy 139; 10. Jason Statler 137

On the internet:

Cancen Oil King of the West Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear-

Official Website-

Marysville Raceway Park-

Official Website-

Upcoming events for the Cancen Oil King of the West Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear:

Saturday April 21- Marysville Raceway Park

Saturday April 28- Placerville Speedway

Saturday May 5- 22nd “Dave Bradway Jr. Memorial” Silver Dollar Speedway in Chico

Friday May 11- “Chris & Brian Faria Memorial” Tulare Thunderbowl Raceway
Saturday May 12- “Chris & Brian Faria Memorial” Tulare Thunderbowl Raceway

Saturday May 26- “Salute to Walter T Ross” Calistoga Speedway
Sunday May 27- “Tribute to Gary Patterson” Calistoga Speedway