Rohrbaugh Wins at Trail-Way

trail-way speedway trail way logo

From Trail-Way Speedway

Hanover, PA — (April 20, 2012) — Defending track champ Jeff Rohrbaugh kept a personal winning streak alive by leading wire-to-wire in the 25-lap 358 sprint car feature at Trail-Way Speedway Friday night.

“It’s nice to get a win early this year,” said Rohrbaugh upon exiting the Trone Outdoor Advertising/Pro-Mobile Alignment Specialists/L&R Auto Body/Valley Welding #45 in victory lane, “Last year it was August before we won.”

“I love racing here,” added Rohrbaugh, “It’s a great facility. I know Austin (Hogue) was closing at the end, but he would’ve had to wreck me to beat me.”
With the victory, Rohrbaugh has now won at Trail-Way in each year since 2004.
Handicapping placed Rohrbaugh on the pole for the start, and he and Hogue ran first and second the entire way. Although Hogue closed in lapped traffic over the final few laps, Rohrbaugh’s margin of victory was .63 seconds.

“I was a little worried about the lapped traffic,” added Rohrbaugh, “But I like the ‘old man groove’ and was staying on the bottom. Hogue tried to drive around the #45, but Rohrbaugh used the lapped car of Saturday night Lincoln winner Jacob Allen to block Hogue through turns one and two of the final lap.

Joe Trone, Jr. completed his best run of the year in third, with tenth-starting Kyle Moody and Tim Wagaman completing the top five. Rounding out the top ten were Wes Irwin, Keith Prutzman, Zach Euculano, Mike Bittinger, and Ryan Wilson.
Heats for the 20 “358” sprinters were won by Rohrbaugh and Rick Horn.