Martin, Carpenter, and McVay Winners at Double X

Wingless Auto Racing war logo

From Chad Buford

California, MO — (May 25th, 2012) — Taking advantage of Jonathan Cornell’s late race misfortune, Randy Martin won on Friday at Double X Speedway .   Also picking up wins on the night were Lanny Carpenter and Todd McVay.

In the Xxtreme Glass sprint cars, Martin led the first four laps until Cornell made his presence felt.  The duo ran down the backstretch and into turn three wheel to wheel with Cornell finally making the pass.  Behind the lead duo, Adam Jones and Kyle Bellm had a very good race going for the third spot as well.

Martin kept Cornell in his sights until lap fifteen when Cornell was able to slip by a pair of lapped cars.  Martin lost valuable ground  waiting for a chance to get by the lapped traffic.

As the laps wound down, Cornell got trapped behind lapped traffic allowing Martin one final shot.  As Martin moved in, Cornell’s radiator hose busted causing chaos in turn one.  Martin got into Cornell which then caused third running Jones to do a 360.  Since the yellow flag came out, Jones lost his spot.  While under yellow, Cornell stopped on the front stretch ending his fine run.

Martin led the final two laps as he was followed by Bellm and Tyler Blank.  Gabe Maycock and Evan Martin rounded out the top five.  Heats were won by Martin, Bellm, and Jones.

Wingless Auto Racing made its first ever appearance at Double X.  Lanny Carpenter picked up the win in the Jack Hockett Racing 77.  He was followed by Austin Alumbaugh and Jeff Wingate.  Rounding out the top five were Mitchell Moore and Frank Brown. The heat race was won by Moore.

The American Midget Series also made its first appearance at Double X with Tim McVay picking up the win.  He was followed by Gavin Galbraith, and Will Pierce.  Kaitlynn Leer and Joe Boyles rounded out the top five.  McVay also won the heat race.
Double X will be in action again on Sunday May 27th with their Tribute to Jesse Hockett featuring the ASCS Warrior region sprint cars.  Also in action will be the street stocks and hobby stocks.


Xxtreme Glass 360’s-

Heat race winners-Adam Jones, Randy Martin, and Kyle Bellm

A Main-25 laps

  1. 14 Randy Martin, California, MO (2)   2. 86 Kyle Bellm, Nixa, MO (3)   3. 75 Tyler Blank, California, MO (6)   4. 77 Gabe Maycock, Montgomery City, MO (5)   5. 4 Evan Martin, California, MO (14)   6. 33 Austin Alumbaugh, Higginsville, MO (15)   7. 93 Taylor Walton, Warrensburg, MO (11)    8. 04 Brad Graham, Springfield, MO (9)    10. 72 Curtis Boyer, New Haven, MO (8)   11. 49 Tyler Elliott, California, MO (10)     12. 1A Adam Jones, Wright City, MO (1)-DNF   13. 28 Jonathan Cornell, Sedalia, MO (4)-DNF   14. 55 Greg Clemons, Belton, MO (16)-DNF   15. 89 Todd McVay, Grain Valley, MO (12)-DNF   16. 48 David Brown, Marshall, MO (7)-DNF

WAR results for May 25th, 2012


A-Main-20 laps

  1. 77 Lanny Carpenter, Clarksburg, MO (2)    2. 26 Austin Alumbaugh, Higginsville, MO (5)      3. 8 Jeff Wingate, Centertown, MO (3)    4. 51 Mitchell Moore, Edgerton, KS (4)    5. 43 Frank Brown, Marshall, MO (6)   6. 19s Steven Cross, Clinton, MO (1)


Contingency Awards-

Schure Built Suspensions Fast Time Award-Austin Alumbaugh

Rod End Supply Heat Race Winner-Mitchell Moore

Keizer Aluminum Wheels-Lanny Carpenter

Steve Watt Enterprises-Jeff Wingate

Rod End Supply-Steven Cross

Waterloo Industries-Frank Brown