Skaggs Scoots to Skyline Victory

From Scott Wolfe

Stewart, OH — (June 22, 2012) — In the torrid OVSCA 410 Outlaw sprint main at Skyline Speedway, the competition was whetting its chops in the absence of Danny Smith, who hit the road for Speedweek competition. The Veteran Smith had won the last five consecutive OVSCA mains.

Friday night, it would be a different story as young motocross champ and second-year driver Nathan Skaggs took the lead from Josh Davis on lap four and never looked back in posting his first-ever 410 win. Davis was looking for the clean sweep after posting a fast time of 12:81 on the 3/8 mile bullring, then easily claiming the first heat victory. Davis looked to be good out of the gate, but after a lap three restart Skaggs’ tires fired and the up-and-coming youngster took the lead then after a five-lap tango with Davis began to pull away from the pack.

Grafton, WV driver Andre Layfield and Wayne McPeek battled for the duration of the 25-lap affair with Layfield, up a couple positions from his starting slot anchoring down third. Dave Dickson and Aaron Higgins moved up three spots after a five-way battle with Kory Crabtree, Mark Imler and Wes McGlumphy. Lance Webb spun a great web of success with a solid run into the top ten.

As the race approached the 17-lap mark, Bob Tucker clipped an infield tire and brought out the race’s second caution. Skaggs pulled away on the restart, but Davis tried to reel him in without success. Skaggs’ Beasley Trucking GF-1 Chassis/Shaver Powered #2 blitzed onto victory and into victory lane for the very first time. McPeek– the West Virginia Invader– anchored down third over Layfield and a steady run by rookie Ryan Broughton.

Said Skaggs, “Me & Harold (Beasley) have been working on the slick tracks all year long & we experimented some tonight, got some bite off the turns and this GF-1 chassis really started working great.”

The top ten were Skaggs, Davis, McPeek, Layfield, Broughton, Crabtree, Dave Dickson, Aaron Higgins, Lance Webb, and Wes McGlumphy. The hard charger in the sprints was Lance Webb moving up five positions from 14th to 9th.

410 Sprint Cars (16)

Fast Time: Josh Davis 12:81

Heat One: Josh Davis, Nathan Skaggs, Andre Layfield, Wes McGlumphy, Greg Mitchell, Eric Martin, Aaron Higgins, Bob Tucker

Heat Two: Wayne McPeek, Mark Imler, Ryan Broughton, Kory Crabtree, Dave Dickson, Chris Garnes, Lance Webb, Jeff Conrad

Feature: Nathan Skaggs, Josh Davis, Wayne McPeek, Andre Layfield, Ryan Broughton, Kory Crabtree, Dave Dickson, Aaron Higgins, Lance Webb, Wes McGlumphy, Eric Martin, Chris Garnes, Mark Imler, Bob Tucker, Jeff Conrad, Greg Mitchell (DNS)