Crawley charges USCS Sprint Car Mania V win at Boyd’s Speedway

From Pete Walton

Ringgold, GA — (August 31, 2012) — United Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear National points leader, Tim Crawley from Benton, Arkansas who started outside the front row, slipped underneath the 2008 USCS Rookie of the Year, Anthony Nicholson exiting turn four of lap twelve and led the balance of the twenty-five lap USCS Sprint Car Mania V main event at Boyd’s Speedway on Friday night to capture his twelfth USCS main event and victory lane visit of the 2012 season.

Nicholson started from the K&N Filters Pole Position and the two drivers put on quite a battle over the first dozen laps before the veteran (Crawley) found an opening to race by. Nicholson finished in the runner-up spot just about six car lengths behind the series points leader. Defending and ten-time series Champion, Terry Gray from Bartlett, Tennessee followed the lead duo home in the K&N Filters Podium Award third position. The 2010 USCS Mid South regional series Rookie of the Year, Jerod Roller from Olive Branch, Mississippi charged from an eighth place start to fourth place. The 2010 USCS National Rookie of the Year and only female racer in the field, 19 year-old Morgan Turpen from Oakland, Tennessee completed the top five drivers.

Past USCS Southern regional series Champion, Johnny Bridges from Cherryville, North Carolina led the next group in sixth place. Seventeen year-old Eric Riggins, Jr. from Charlotte, North Carolina who was the 2010 USCS Southern region Rookie of the Year, followed in seventh place. Local favorite Aubrey Black from nearby Lookout Mountain, Georgia finished eighth. USCS presented by Goodyear series regular, Nick DeFeo from Marietta, Georgia followed in ninth place. Four time 2012 USCS feature winner, Derek Hagar from Marion, Arkansas rounded out the top ten drivers.

Tim Crawley kicked off the evening’s USCS action with a win in the 6-lap Goodyear Speed Dash. Crawley then grabbed the win in the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat Race. Morgan Turpen got the victory in the Butlerbuilt Second Heat Race. Jerod Roller passed the most cars in the main event to earn the Wilwood Engineering Hard Charger Award. Jeff Willingham from Ripley, Mississippi garnered the Goodyear Rookie of Race honors. Jerod Roller earned the JE Pistons Top guns Award for his fourth place finish in the main event.

The next United Sprint Car Series event is on September 1st at Sugar Creek Raceway in Blue Ridge, Georgia. For more information on that event please visit . On Sunday night at 7:00 p.m. USCS invades legendary Toccoa Speedway in Toccoa, Georgia. The series then finishes a four night mini-series on Labor Day Monday, September 3rd in the evening at Tri County Racetrack in Brasstown, North Carolina ( . For more For rules and 2011 schedule info on the USCS please visit or call 770-460-7223.

United Sprint Car Series presented by Goodyear results – Boyd Speedway on Friday, August 31, 2012:

Goodyear Speed Dash: Tim Crawley, Terry Gray, Anthony Nicholson, Morgan Turpen, Eric Riggins, Jr. and Derek Hagar.

Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: Tim Crawley, Anthony Nicholson, Derek Hagar, Johnny Bridges, Nick DeFeo, Bob Auld, Ryan Devitt and Jeff Willingham.

Butlerbuilt Second Heat: Morgan Turpen, Eric Riggins, Jr., Terry Gray, Jerod Roller, Clint Weiss, Aubrey Black, Joe Larkin, Terry Witherspoon and Stacy Mashburn.

USCS Presented by Goodyear A-Main 30 Laps:
1 – 88 Tim Crawley, Benton, AR
2 – 16 Anthony Nicholson, Bartlett, TN
3 – 10 Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN
4 – 5 Jerod Roller, Olive Branch, MS
5 – 07 Johnny Bridges, Cherryville, NC
6 – 80 Morgan Turpen, Cordova, TN
7 – 47 Eric Riggins, Jr., Charlotte, NC
8 – 21 Aubrey Black, Lookout Mtn., GA
9 – 96d Nick DeFeo, Marietta, GA
10 – 23 Derek Hagar, Marion, AR
11 – 28 Jeff Willingham, Ripley, MS
12 – 83 Bob Auld, Largo, FL
13 – 46 Ryan DeVitt, Capistrano Beach, CA
14 – 43 Terry Witherspoon, Jacksonville, FL
15 – 33 Joe Larkin, Suwanee, GA
16 – m33 Stacy Mashburn, Newnan, GA
17 – 0x Clint Weiss, Seale, AL
DNS – Michael Miller, Ocean Springs, MS

K & N FILTERS POLE AWARD: #16 Anthony Nicholson
Wilwood Engineering HARDCHARGER AWARD: #5 Jerod Roller
ROOKIE OF THE RACE: #28 Jeff Willingham
JE PISTONS TOP GUNS AWARD: #5 Jerod Roller (4th place)
K&N FILTERS 3RD AWARD: #16 Anthony Nicholson


Keizer Aluminum Wheels Top Five Award: #07 Johnny Bridges

DMI/Diversified Machine Top Ten Award: #23 Derek Hagar

LAP LEADERS = Anthony Nicholson laps 1-11 and Tim Crawley Laps 12-25