Alberdin and Seidelman Win at Evergreen

From Evergeen Speedway


Monroe, WA — (April 27,¬† 2013) — On Saturday April 27 it was Interstate Batteries Night at Evergreen Speedway. The night featured the return to the BIG track for the ASA NSRA Winged Sprint Cars. Andy Alberding won the feature. The WMRA/USAC Series was also on hand and Tony Seidelman won the main on the 3/8-mile oval. Three local divisions were in action on the 3/8-mile. Jon Roberts won his third main in as many races in the Foster Press NASCAR Mini-Stock Division and Roger Drake did the same in the Les Schwab Tires NASCAR Street Stock Division. It was the annual Hornet Nationals for the Interstate Batteries Hornet Division with Scott Hunt winning the feature including the $500 winners share of the purse.

Alberding the defending champion of the traveling NSRA Series started the season off with a win on the BIG 5/8-mile oval. Early race leader and fast qualifier Jeff Montgomery looked like he would win until a mechanical problem ended his night early. Alberding then took the lead. On a restart at mid race Alberding and Sierra Jackson started side-by-side. Jackson tried to get by Alberding, with the two putting on a great battle, Jackson then started to slow and hung on to finish second just ahead of Johnny Geisler. Todd Coleman was fourth and Billy Kennelly fifth.

WMRA/USAC  regular Seidelman won the main that was shortened due to rain. Evan Margeson, who was fast qualifier and winner of the heat race, finished a close second. Third went to Kris McKensie. Fourth was Ariel Biggs (was the winner of the USAC portion of the race). Whitney Nolan finished fifth.