McFadden Does it Again at Brisbane

Archerfield Brisbane International speedway logo

From Archerfield Speedway

Brisbane, AU — (May 11, 2013) — Australian Sprintcar champion James McFadden again upstaged and outpaced the locals to score back-to-back feature victories at Supercheap Auto Archerfield Speedway last night (Saturday, May 11). McFadden assumed the lead on lap 5 and remained in control for the remaining 25 circulations to win round 12 of the KRE Race Engines Track Championship.

Replicating his result from the previous weekend, Darren Jensen was again the best of the rest in finishing second. Having started on the front row alongside McFadden, Jensen cut the quickest lap of the race and led the opening stages before ultimately finishing 2.5 seconds adrift of the two-time national titleholder.

Continuing their ongoing battle for the series championship, Todd Wanless and Andrew Scheuerle shadowed each other home once again with Wanless getting the best of the battle to secure third spot on this occasion. Scheuerle finished fourth ahead of David Muir, with Kevin Titman completing the top six.

After dropping back as far as 15th at one stage, Jason Kendrick steadily edged his way forward again and had advanced to seventh when the chequer appeared. Quiet achiever Dan Murray was next in line ahead of Daryl Campbell and Terry Bracken, with Steve Rowell, Brent Kratzmann, Brodie Tulloch and South Australia’s Jake Tranter also going the distance.

Six heat races were contested and it Campbell, Murray, Tranter, Brett Thomas, Mark Pholi and Ben Hilder who shared the spoils.

In the Dash, McFadden proved too flash and finished more than four seconds clear of Jensen and Wanless. Peter Lack (pictured above) annexed fourth and would later find himself in third spot for a considerable portion of the main event before his race ended with just seven laps to run. Bryan Mann and Danny Reidy, both of whom would also failed to finish the feature, completed the dash runners.

The B Main went to Pholi over Murray, with Tranter and Bracken also making the transfer into the feature.

Wingless Sprints were well down in numbers with just five cars making it to the finish of their 15-lap feature event. Kristy Bonsey improved upon her runner-up finish in the Queensland Championship to win on this occasion, outpacing Brant Chandler, Jaen Zeschke, Ken Crompton and Warren Marquis.

There were no surprises amongst the front runners in the AMCA Nationals feature with Nathan Durston leading home Steve Potts, Matt Hardy, Russ Hardy, Matt Enders, Joshua Dreaver and David Ohl. Thomas Vickery, Peter Greer and Dave Smith were the remaining finishers.

Scott Genrich led every lap to win the Lightning Sprints feature event, downing Jim Kennedy, Mark Sinton and last start feature winner Dion Prowse, with Emma Harris rounding out the first five.

As expected, it was Dudley Ward who emerged triumphant in the Queensland Stockcar Championship. Martin Wilkinson finished second, followed home by Shane French, John Melbourne and Steve Love.

Maddi McGee beat the boys to win the Junior Sedan feature race over Brandon Heintjes, Damon Johnston, Cody O’Connell and Casey O’Connell.

Next Saturday night at Supercheap Auto Archerfield Speedway, the mighty Midgets contest their annual 50-lap feature race with several interstate drivers expected for the marathon event. Dirt Modifieds will make their first appearance since the Australian Championship late last month, with Wingless Sprints, Mod Lites and Open Sedans also on the program.