Michael Pickens wins record 5th straight start in POWRi Midgets at Angell Park

From Tim Tuttle


Sun Prarie, WI — (May 25, 2013) — New Zealand’s Michael Pickens won his fifth consecutive start in the POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series on Saturday, leading the final 29 laps in the opening round of 11th annual Sue Thiel Memorial co-sanctioned by the Badger Midget Auto Racing Association at Angell Park Speedway.


“Five in a row, pretty cool,” Pickens said.


Pickens set a POWRi record for feature wins in straight starts. The multi-time champion in the POWRi Lucas Oil Australian Speedcar Super Series and POWRi Lucas Oil New Zealand Super Series won twice in 2011 and twice in 2012. He’ll try to stretch it to six tonight in the closing round of the Thiel Memorial at the one-third mile speedway.


The 30-year-old Pickens started on the outside of the front row in his Esslinger-powered Breka and passed Austin Brown for the lead on the second of 30 laps.


“The track was pretty slick and I got right up on the fence,” Pickens said.


Brad Kuhn of Avon, Ind., finished second and Brown of Millstadt, Ill., was third.


POWRi Lucas Oil National Midget Series feature results (30 laps): 1. Michael Pickens, 2. Brad Kuhn, 3. Austin Brown, 4. Brad Mosen, 5. Mike Hess, 6. Daniel Robinson, 7. Tyler Thomas, 8. Zach Daum, 9. Brandon Waelti, 10. Andrew Felker, 11. Billy Balog 12. Jake Blackhurst, 13. Alex Bright,14. Cody Weisensel, 15. Garrett Aitken, 16. Terry Babb, 17. Kurt Mayhew, 18. Todd Lehr, 19. Colten Cottle, 20 Parker Price-Miller, 21. Chett Gehrke, 22. Jake Neuman.


For more information, go to www.POWRi.com.