Kaiser Wins HOSS Feature at Anderson

hoss hoosier outlaw sprint series logo

hoss hoosier outlaw sprint series logoFrom Anderson Speedway


Anderson, IN — (June 14, 2013) — Geoff Kaiser took advantage of the inverted start to lead all 30 laps of the Hoosier Outlaw Sprint Series (HOSS) feature at Anderson Speedway on AERCO Heating and Cooling Night.

For Kaiser it was his third career win at Anderson Speedway, having won HOSS winged sprint features in 2012 and 2008.

Kaiser was first chased by Kyle Feeney, who was passed by Joe Swanson on the eighth circuit with an inside move entering turn three.

Swanson cut into Kaiser’s lead when the race’s only caution flag waved on lap 20 when Ryan Myers spun in turn two.

On the restart Kaiser pulled away to win by four-tenths of a second over Feeney with Troy DeCaire finishing third.

“The car was put together last night,” Kaiser said of the winning car provided by the Swanson team. “We were still working on the car when we got to the track.”

DeCaire was fifth after the first lap and moved into the top three after 20 laps.

Fast qualifier Aaron Pierce started seventh in the feature, but missed on the set-up and finished eighth.

Curtis Chapman continued his winning ways capturing his sixth consecutive WMDH Thunder Car feature and for the second week in a row not taking the lead until the waning laps.

Trent Gosser took the early lead chased by his father, Tom, and Chapman. On lap four Chapman made contact with Tom Gossar, causing him to spin in turn three. Both drivers were sent to the tail.

Chapman moved into second on lap seven with an inside pass of Rob Allman on the back straight. He started to close on Trent Gossar and by lap 20 was running side by side for the lead.

Finally on lap 24 Chapman took advantage of the lapped car of Austin Russell to get around Trent Gossar in the high groove coming off the second corner.

Tom Gossar finished third followed by Allman and Russell.

Jerry Dane battled with Paul Phipps for the top spot in the Front Wheel Drive Oval feature before finally taking control of the race on lap 13.

Dane and Phipps swapped the lead several times with both drivers running different lines. Dane used the high line and Phipps stayed glued to the low groove.

Elliott McKinney came home in third followed by Kamden Creek and Justin Clark.

Once Jayden Cave took the lead in the Mini-Cup feature on lap seven with a pass of Mike Harrold, he pulled away to win by almost 4-seconds.

Harrold held on to second after battling with Brody Hays for most of the race with Bryce Whitson and Jamie Domski rounding out the top five.

Racing action returns to Anderson Speedway with Storm Water Quality Partnership Night at the Races on Saturday, June 22 featuring the CRA Street Stock 200, Front Wheel Drives Figure 8’s and IOFS Super Karts.

For additional information on Anderson Speedway, visit www.andersonspeedway.com or contact Anderson Speedway at (765) 642-0206.