McNeil triumphs with ASCS Gulf South

2012 ASCs American Sprint Car Series Plain Logo Top story

From Bryan Hulbert


Beaumont, TX — (June 21, 2013) — The Griffith Truck and Equipment Gulf South Region added its ninth winner of 2013 at the Golden Triangle Raceway Park Friday night as Michael McNeil put his No. 25m in victory lane after going side by side with Christopher Bell for the first half of the night’s feature event.

Leading the first thirteen laps, McNeil surrendered the point to Bell who worked the cushion until contact with a slower car sent the Baytown Ford No. 31 flipping on Lap 21.

Reacquiring the lead, McNeil crossed ahead of Aaron Reutzel with Ray Allen Kulhanek charging from sixteenth to third. Brandon Berryman came to fourth from eleventh with Blake Hahn coming from the tail to fifth after being involved in a crash on the opening lap.

Channin Tankersley, J.J. Simmons, Larry Howery, Brandi Jass, and Gary Watson completed the top ten.

Griffith Truck and Equipment Gulf South Region
Golden Triangle Raceway Park – Beaumont, Texas
Friday, June 21, 2013

Car Count: 22

Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 31B-Christopher Bell; 2. 5X-Tyson Hall; 3. 17T-Travis Harris; 4. 15T-Travis Elliott; 5. 88-Scottie McDonald; 6. B51-Johnny Brown; 7. 24-Brandie Jass; 8. 5-Jimmy Brooks

Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 25M-Michael McNeil; 2. 17-Blake Hahn; 3. 3-Gary Watson; 4. 66-J.J. Simmons; 5. 19-Klint Angelette; 6. 7W-Dustin Welch; 7. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek

Heat 3 (8 Laps): 1. 87-Aaron Reutzel; 2. 71-Channin Tankersley; 3. 31-Brandon Berryman; 4. 15-Andrew VanBlarcum; 5. 92-Harry Yerrington; 6. 69-Larry Howery; 7. 51-Beau Smith

B Feature 1 (12 Laps): 1. 51-Beau Smith; 2. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek; 3. 5-Jimmy Brooks; 4. B51-Johnny Brown; 5. 24-Brandie Jass; 6. 69-Larry Howery; 7. 92-Harry Yerrington; 8. 7W-Dustin Welch

A Feature (25 Laps): 1. 25M-Michael McNeil; 2. 87-Aaron Reutzel; 3. 21T-Ray Allen Kulhanek; 4. 31-Brandon Berryman; 5. 17-Blake Hahn; 6. 71-Channin Tankersley; 7. 66-J.J. Simmons; 8. 69-Larry Howery; 9. 24-Brandie Jass; 10. 3-Gary Watson; 11. B51-Johnny Brown; 12. 15-Andrew VanBlarcum; DNF 31B-Christopher Bell; DNF 19-Klint Angelette; DNF 51-Beau Smith; DNF 15T-Travis Elliott; DNF 17T-Travis Harris; DNF 88-Scottie McDonald; DNF 5X-Tyson Hall; DNF 5-Jimmy Brooks

Lap Leader(s): Michael McNeil (1-13, 22-25) Christopher Bell (14-21)