Fredenberg Memorial Sunday at APS

bmaraBy Bryan Gapinski

Sun Prarie, WI — (July 31, 2013) — the revival of one of the longest running Badger Midget Series events the “37th annual Al Fredenberg Memorial” will be run on Sunday August 4 at Angell Park Speedway.  Also appearing with the Stark Automotive Group/Mid-State Equipment Badger Midget Series will be the Badger 600 Micros and the Wisconsin Dirt Racing Legends.
The event, which remembers the 1956 Badger Midget champion was run annually at the track from 1964 to 2000, with twenty-three drivers winning the event led by four-time winners Dan Boorse and Kevin Doty. Fredenberg lost his life in an accident at the track on the exact date of this year’s event fifty-years earlier on Aug. 4, 1963.
            The purse for the 50-lap feature now exceeds $16,000, paying $3,200 to win and $500 to start. Pits open at 3:00 p.m., grandstands at 5:00 p.m., practice begins at 6:00 p.m., with racing to follow.
             The midget portion of scheduled Aug. 10 event for Wilmot (Wis.) Raceway, has been cancelled. The Badger 600 Micros, and the tracks Modified, Street Stock, and Smage Brothers Motorcycle Stunt Show will highlight the evenings racing activities.
               Brad Kuhn seeking his fourth career Badger Championship leads Andrew Felker by 46-points, with six events remaining. Danny Felker leads Bill Ecker by 44-points in the battle for the Car owner Championship.
Driver Points: 1. Brad Kuhn 953; 2. Andrew Felker 907; 3. Zach Daum 754; 4. Austin Brown 617; 5. Danny Stratton 531; 6. Jake Blackhurst 479; 7. Mike Hess 350; 8. Brandon Waelti 347; 9. Scott Hatton 321; 10. Daniel Robinson 290.
Car Owner Points: 1. Danny Felker#11-907; 2. Bill Ecker#57-863; 3. Dan Daum#5-754; 4. Hans Lein#2-699; 5. Kenny Brown#7-617.