Jason Johnson takes seventh Lucas Oil ASCS win of 2013

Jason Johnson stands in victory lane at the Lexington 104 Speedway in the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour's inaugural visit (ASCS / Bryan Hulbert)
Jason Johnson stands in victory lane at the Lexington 104 Speedway in the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour's inaugural visit (ASCS / Bryan Hulbert)
Jason Johnson stands in victory lane at the Lexington 104 Speedway in the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour’s inaugural visit (ASCS / Bryan Hulbert)

From Bryan Hulbert

Lexington, TX — (August 24, 2013) — All signs were that Brad Loyet was going to win at the Lexington 104 Speedway Saturday night with the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real. That was, until Lap 26 when the right rear of Loyet’s No. 05 shredded exiting turn four following a restart on Lap 25.

Standing in victory lane with his seventh Protect the Harvest A-Feature win of 2013, Johnson was very complimentative of the track conditions, “Hats off to the track crew, they really worked their tails off all day long. I got here about lunch time, and these guys haven’t stopped.”

“I think Brad probably had us covered to be quite honest,” commented Jason of trailing the No. 05 for the first twenty-six laps. “He was setting a pretty fast pace out there but I could see his right-rear going down to be honest, and he kept getting balled up and going higher, and higher, over the curb and under that yellow I could see it was definitely going flat so I wanted to make sure I was in the opposite lane he was in.”

Johnny Herrera crossed second after having run third for the first seventeen laps until Jeff Swindell waned with the ignition system going south on the H&H No. 94. “We’ll take it; we just need to keep working hard. Running second to Jason, you know, we’re in a tight points battle so we can’t be finishing second but as long as we stay real close, within one or two positions, we’re going to have some go our way, and his way, but we’ll see what happens.”

After missing the draw for his Heat Race, Tim Crawley at first had elected to not run but ultimately competed and made the best of the situation, coming from tenth to complete the podium. “We don’t get to run with the national series much this year. I wish we could. I wish we had the funding to get out and do it full time again. You know to run in the top three, and top five with the National Tour is definitely tough. Yea, I had some misfortune but we still had a great car.”

Logan Forler came from eighth to fourth with Dustin Morgan following from ninth to complete the top five.

Having to swap engines after Hot Laps, Tony Bruce, Jr. made the redraw and came home sixth with Seth Bergman seventh. After suffering the flat tire while leading, Brad Loyet fought back to finish eighth with Jeff Swindell able to salvage a ninth despite a failing ignition system. Justin Webb advanced four spots to round out the top ten.

Logan Forler and Tony Bruce, Jr. earned Heat Race wins. A very rare time trial was held at the Lexington 104 Speedway. The results of which had no effect on the format as it was simply to establish a track record. Jeff Swindell’s 11.871 second lap around the three-eighths mile oval was enough to earn a $500 bonus offered by the track owner.

The Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real continues on Friday, August 30 and Saturday, August 31 with the 35th annual Jackson Nationals in Jackson, Minn. For more information, log onto http://www.ascracing.com.

Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real
Lexington 104 Speedway – Lexington, Tenn.
Saturday, August 24, 2013

Car Count: 18

Wesmar Heat 1 (8 Laps): 1. 2L-Logan Forler[2]; 2. 41-Jason Johnson[1]; 3. 23-Seth Bergman[4]; 4. 94-Jeff Swindell[6]; 5. 93-Dustin Morgan[8]; 6. 17W-Cole Wood[3]; 7. 15-Joey Moughan[7]; 8. 11-Jake Roach[9]; DNS 3H-Brandon Hanks

BMRS Heat 2 (8 Laps): 1. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[2]; 2. 23B-Brian Bell[3]; 3. 05-Brad Loyet[4]; 4. 45X-Johnny Herrera[6]; 5. 88-Tim Crawley[9]; 6. 16-Anthony Nicholson[7]; 7. 31-Justin Webb[5]; 8. 2A-Randy Hibbs[8]; DNS 29-Brandon Hahn

Protect the Harvest A Feature (30 Laps): 1. 41-Jason Johnson[7]; 2. 45X-Johnny Herrera[2]; 3. 88-Tim Crawley[10]; 4. 2L-Logan Forler[8]; 5. 93-Dustin Morgan[9]; 6. 18-Tony Bruce Jr[6]; 7. 23-Seth Bergman[4]; 8. 05-Brad Loyet[1]; 9. 94-Jeff Swindell[3]; 10. 31-Justin Webb[14]; 11. 16-Anthony Nicholson[11]; 12. 2A-Randy Hibbs[15]; DNF 23B-Brian Bell[5]; DNF 11-Jake Roach[16]; DNF 15-Joey Moughan[13]; DNF 17W-Cole Wood[12]; DNS 3H-Brandon Hanks; DNS 29-Brandon Hahn

Lap Leaders: Brad Loyet (1-26), Jason Johnson (27-30)
PitstopUSA.com Hard Charger: Tim Crawley+7
FSR High Points of the Night: Logan Forler
Hawk Performance Products Fastest Lap of the Night: Jeff Swindell – 11.871 seconds
Provisionals: N/A

2013 “A” Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-7, Jeff Swindell-4, Johnny Herrera-3, Roger Crockett-3, Logan Forler-2, Brian Brown-2, Brad Loyet-2, Danny Lasoski-2, Kyle Bellm, Jack Dover, Seth Bergman, Jonathan Cornell, Tony Bruce, Jr., Travis Rilat, Justin Henderson, Shane Stewart, Tim Crawley

Lucas Oil ASCS Driver Standings (Top 10): 1. Jason Johnson 4,061; 2. Johnny Herrera 4,045; 3. Jeff Swindell 3,887; 4. Brad Loyet 3,837; 5. Logan Forler 3,712; 6. Tony Bruce, Jr. 3,705; 7. Seth Bergman 3,587; 8. Dustin Morgan 3,444; 9 Cole Wood 3,250; 10 Brandon Hahn 2,572;

The 2013 season marks the twenty-second year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of nine different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at www.lucasoil.com. MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. Log onto www.mavtv.com for information regarding availability and listings in your area.

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire and Brodix

Team Lucas Sponsors for the American Sprint Car Series consist of Protect the Harvest, Hawk Performance Products, Geico, E3 Spark Plugs, and General Tire.

Product and Contingency Sponsorship provided by: K&N Filters, PitstopUSA.com, Engler Machine and Tool, Roush Yates Racing Engines, FSR Radiator and Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Driverwebsites.com, Weld Wheels, Fuel Safe, Saldana Racing Products, SBI Fuel Bladders, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Xtreme Accu-Tach, Simpson, LeJoie Seating, Ti 22 Performance, Wesmar Racing Engines, Hinchman Indy Racewear, Brown and Miller Racing Solutions, DMI Rear Ends, Rod End Supply, Smiley’s Racing Products, Speedway Motors, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at www.ascsracing.com as well as Twitter (@LucasOilASCS) and Facebook. News and information can also be sent to you with the ASCS E-News by texting ASCS to 22828 with any mobile device.