Jackson Nationals next for Lucas Oil ASCS

ascs lucas oil national tour 2012 logo tease


By Bryan Hulbertascs lucas oil national tour 2012 logo tease

TULSA, Okla. (August 27, 2013) A part of the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV American Real in 2011, the Jackson Nationals returns to the lineup for the 2013 edition.The thirty-fifth time the Jackson Speedway in Jackson, Minn. has hosted the Jackson Nationals, a variation of Sprint Cars has raced the Minnesota jewel.

Wing, Non-Wing, 317cid, 360cid, 410cid, and even “unlimited” Sprint Cars have been a part of the history that is the Jackson Nationals.

Even though it’s the thirty-fifth running, 38 Jackson National titles have been claimed with duel features run for both 410cid and 360cid Sprint Cars between 2003 and 2005.

Overall, 27 drivers have earned a Jackson Nationals title in 38 feature events. Doug Wolfgang holds the lions share at four wins (1985, 1987, 1993, 1996), followed by Jake Peters (1998, 2008, 2009) and Tim Monson (1990, 1992, 2001) tied at three. A pair of wins belongs to Jack McCorkell (1980, 1981), Lou Kennedy, Jr. (1995, 1997), Terry McCarl (2003, 2004), and Gregg Bakker (2006, 2007). McCarl’s wins are split between 360cid and 410cid competition.

Entering the double-header weekend, Jason Johnson has opened his advantage over Johnny Herrera to 16 markers. The 2011 champion of the Jackson Nationals, Johnson’s season to date has produced seven victories, twenty top fives’, and twenty-six top tens’ in National competition.

Herrera stands with a trio of victories, eighteen top five, and twenty-six top ten runs and sits 158 points ahead of Jeff Swindell. Brad Loyet looked to be on track for his third victory of 2013 at the Lexington 104 Speedway on Saturday, August 24 until his right-rear tire shredded with four laps to run. Rebounding to post his twenty-fifth top ten of 2013, the Missouri driver has closed to 50 points behind Swindell.

Logan Forler retook fifth in driver standings from Tony Bruce, Jr. by a slim seven point margin. Bruce holds sixth with Seth Bergman, Dustin Morgan, Cole Wood, and Brandon Hahn completing the top ten in driver standings.

The Jackson Nationals will be paired with the Speedway Motors Midwest Region. Jordan Boston currently holds a 13 point advantage over reigning champion Jack Dover. Derrik Lusk is currently third with Billy Alley and Cody Ledger making up the top five in regional standings. Only 65 points separate the five drivers entering the Jackson Nationals. So far, Jack Dover is the only driver in the top five with victories, with two credited to the Nebraska driver.

The Jackson Nationals will be aired live on Racinboys.com PPV for the first time. To purchase, log onto http://www.racinboys.com. The normal audio broadcast will not be included. Purchase of both nights is only $28.

Past Jackson Nationals Winners:

1984 – Bobby Davis, Jr. (Outlaw 410 Sprints)
1985 – Doug Wolfgang (Outlaw 410 Sprints)
1986 – Bobby Allen (Outlaw 410 Sprints)
1987 – Doug Wolfgang (Outlaw 410 Sprints)
1988 – Steve Kinser (World of Outlaws Sprints)
1989 – Rick Hood (Outlaw 410 Sprints)
1989 – Brett Geldner (360 Sprints)
1990 – Tim Monson (360 Sprints)
1991 – Gary DeWall (360 Sprints)
1992 – Tim Monson (360 Sprints)
1993 – Doug Wolfgang (360 Sprints)
1994 – Brian Schnee (360 Sprints)
1995 – Lou Kennedy, Jr. (360 Sprints)
1996 – Doug Wolfgang (360 Sprints)
1997 – Lou Kennedy, Jr. (360 Sprints)
1998 – Jake Peters (360 Sprints)
1999 – Rob Tvedte (360 Sprints)
2000 – Randy Nygaard (360 Sprints)
2001 – Tim Monson (360 Sprints)
2002 – Jake Peters (360 Sprints)
2003 – Travis Whitney (360 Sprints)
2003 – Terry McCarl (410 Sprints)
2004 – Matt Folstad (360 Sprints)
2004 – Terry McCarl (410 Sprints)
2005 – Scott Winters (360 Sprints)
2005 – Wayne Johnson (410 Sprints)
2006 – Gregg Bakker (360 Sprints)
2007 – Gregg Bakker (ASCS 360 Sprints)
2008 – Billy Alley (JSTS 360 Sprints)
2009 – Jake Peters (JSTS 360 Sprints)
2010 – Lee Grosz (JSTS 360 Sprints)
2011 – Jason Johnson (ASCS National Sprints)
2012- Skylar Prochaska (JSTS 360 Sprints)

Quick Look:

Series: Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV American Real
Date(s): Friday, August 30 and Saturday, August 31, 2013
Times: Gates Open at 5:00 P.M. / Hot Laps 6:45 P.M.

Track Information: Jackson Speedway
Address: Jackson County Fairgrounds 76748 550th Ave. Jackson, MN 56143
Phone #: 507-841-1957
Website: http://www.jacksonspeedway.com


2013 “A” Feature Winners: Jason Johnson-7, Jeff Swindell-4, Johnny Herrera-3, Roger Crockett-3, Logan Forler-2, Brian Brown-2, Brad Loyet-2, Danny Lasoski-2, Kyle Bellm, Jack Dover, Seth Bergman, Jonathan Cornell, Tony Bruce, Jr., Travis Rilat, Justin Henderson, Shane Stewart, Tim Crawley

Lucas Oil ASCS Driver Standings (Top 10): 1. Jason Johnson 4,061; 2. Johnny Herrera 4,045; 3. Jeff Swindell 3,887; 4. Brad Loyet 3,837; 5. Logan Forler 3,712; 6. Tony Bruce, Jr. 3,705; 7. Seth Bergman 3,587; 8. Dustin Morgan 3,444; 9 Cole Wood 3,250; 10 Brandon Hahn 2,572;


Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV on the web:

All Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series national events are broadcast live on www.racinboys.com for anyone who is unable to attend the races live. Official results, points, and race notes are posted at www.ascsracing.com. The Lucas Oil ASCS presented by MAVTV can also be found on Facebook and Twitter @LucasOilASCS.

The 2013 season marks the twenty-second year of sanctioning Sprint Car racing for the American Sprint Car Series, which brings the best of Sprint Car racing to dozens of different tracks throughout the nation and into Canada. Anchored by the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series, ASCS also consists of eight different Regions throughout the nation.

Lucas Oil Products is the title sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. More information can be found on Lucas Oil Products at www.lucasoil.com. MAVTV is the presenting sponsor of the American Sprint Car Series. Log onto www.mavtv.com for information regarding availability and listings in your area.

Associate sponsors for the Lucas Oil American Sprint Car Series presented by MAVTV include: Hoosier Racing Tire and Brodix

Team Lucas Sponsors for the American Sprint Car Series consist of Protect the Harvest, Geico, Hawk Racing Products, E3 Spark Plugs, and General Tire.

Product and Contingency Sponsorship provided by: K&N Filters, PitstopUSA.com, Engler Machine and Tool, Roush Yates Racing Engines, FSR Radiator and Racing Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Driverwebsites.com, Weld Wheels, Fuel Safe, Saldana Racing Products, SBI Fuel Bladders, Maxwell Industries, Print Place, Xtreme Accu-Tach, Simpson, LeJoie Seating, Ti 22 Performance, Wesmar Racing Engines, Hinchman Indy Racewear, Brown and Miller Racing Solutions, DMI Rear Ends, Rod End Supply, Smiley’s Racing Products, Speedway Motors, and Hilborn Injection Systems.

Additional information regarding the American Sprint Car Series is available at www.ascsracing.com as well as Twitter (@LucasOilASCS) and Facebook. News and information can also be sent to you with the ASCS E-News by texting ASCS to 22828 with any mobile device.