Nicholson races to USCS Sunday of Speed sprint car win at Toccoa Speedway

Anthony Nicholson visited the USCS victory lane at Toccoa Speedway for his career-third USCS win on Sunday night. (Chris Seeleman photo)
Anthony Nicholson visited the USCS victory lane at Toccoa Speedway for his career-third USCS win on Sunday night. (Chris Seeleman photo)
Anthony Nicholson visited the USCS victory lane at Toccoa Speedway for his career-third USCS win on Sunday night. (Chris Seeleman photo)

From Pete Walton

Toccoa, GA – (September 01, 2013) – The 2008 United Sprint Car Series Rookie of the Year, Anthony Nicholson from Bartlett, Tennessee blasted from the K&N Filters Pole position into the USCS victory lane on Sunday night at Toccoa Speedway in the 2nd annual Sunday of Speed USCS winged sprint car portion of the event. The win was Nicholson’s career-third USCS win and first of the 2013 season. Nicholson ranked 4th in the USCS National points going into the three race weekend.

Nicholson stretched his lead to a half-lap over ten-time National Champion Terry Gray from Bartlett, Tennessee, who started sixth before the first caution flag flew on lap sixteen. Gray and nine time 2013 feature winner and current USCS National point’s leader Derek Hagar from Marion, Arkansas pulled up behind Nicholson on the re-start but when the final fourteen laps went caution free had to settle for second and third places where they were respectively running. Another 2013 feature winner (4/12/13 Carolina Speedway), Eric Riggins, Jr. from Charlotte, North Carolina who seemed to have the fastest car on the track near the end of the race charged from his thirteenth place starting position to finish fourth. The previous night’s feature winner at Cleveland Speedway, Morgan Turpen, who was the only female driver in the field, completed the top five drivers at the finish.

Another former USCS Rookie of the Year, Michael Miller from Ocean Springs, Mississippi finished ahead of the next group of drivers in sixth place. Todd Fayard from Saucier, Mississippi finished in the seventh position. Jake McLain from Indian Trail, North Carolina followed in eighth place. Current Rookie of the Year point’s leader and the youngest driver in the field 13 year-old Taylor Tidmore from Hernando, Mississippi finished in ninth place and Terry Witherspoon from Jacksonville, Florida completed the top ten drivers.

Derek Hagar won the Hoosier Tire Speed Dash. Terry Gray then wonn the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat Lance Moss won the Butlerbuilt Second Heat. After the first heat race winner (Gray) drew a six in the K&N Filters Pole Award drawing Anthony Nicholson was awarded the K&N Filters Pole Position. Young gun Eric Riggins, Jr. advanced the most positions in the main event (9 cars) to earn the Wilwood Disc Brakes Hardcharger Award.

The next USCS Outlaw Thunder evet will the inaugural at Tennessee National Raceway in Hohenwald, Tennessee on Saturday, September 14th. Morgan Turpen was the winner of the March 15, 2013 Tennessee National Raceway event for the USCS Outlaw style sprint cars. For rules, updated schedules and other info on the USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour winged sprint car series 2013 and 17th annual National tour please visit or call 770-865-6097.

USCS Outlaw Thunder Main Event-Cleveland Speedway-Saturday, August 31, 2013

Hoosier Speed Dash: Derek Hagar, Morgan Turpen, Terry Gray, Michael Miller

Eric Riggins, Jr. and Anthony Nicholson.

Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: winner Terry Gray, Michael Miller, Jake McLain, Ray Bugg, Darren Orth, Bob Auld, Joe Larkin, Curt Terrell and Matt Hope.

Butlerbuilt Second Heat: winner Lance Moss, Todd Fayard, Derek Hagar, Taylor Tidmore, Anthony Nicholson, Morgan Turpen, Eric Riggins, Jr., Terry Witherspoon and Jeff Willingham.

USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour main event 30-laps :
1 16 Anthony Nicholson, Bartlett, TN
2. 10 Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN
3. 9Jr. Derek Hagar, Marion, AR
4. 47 Eric Riggins, Jr., Charlotte, NC
5. 10m Morgan Turpen, Cordova, TN
6. 4m Michael Miller, Ocean Springs, MS
7. 13 Todd Fayard, Saucier, MS
8. 67 Jake McLain, Indian Trail, NC
9. 13T Taylor Tidmore, Hernando, MS
10. 43 Terry Witherspoon, Jacksonville, FL

11. 27 Curt Terrell, Bartlett, TN
12. 25 Ray Bugg, Iuka, MS
13. 28 Jeff Willingham, Ripley, MS
14. 83 Bob Auld, Largo, FL
15. 23 Lance Moss, Cherryville, NC
16. 34 Darren Orth, Jacksonville, FL
17. 21 Matt Hope, York, SC
18. 33 Joe Larkin, Suwannee, GA

USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour Race Awards:

Hoosier USCS Sprint Speed Dash: 9jr. Derek Hagar

Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: 10 Terry Gray

Butlerbuilt Second Heat Award: 23 Lance Moss

K&N Filters Pole Award: 16 Anthony Nicholson

K&N Filters Podium (3rd place) Award: 9Jr. Derek Hagar

Wilwood Disc Brakes Hardcharger Award: 13T Taylor Tidmore (started 12th finished 5th)

DMI/Bulldog rear Ends top Ten Award: 43 Terry Witherspoon