usac United States Auto Club 2012 logo

From Dick Jordan

Thursday night’s USAC West Coast/Southwest Sprint Car “Grudge Series” event at Perris (Calif.) Auto Perris kicks off the three-night 18th Annual “Budweiser Oval Nationals” presented by All Coast Construction.

Showcasing stars of USAC’s West Coast and Southwest 360 Sprint series, the race is a non-points “special event” for both series. The West Coast campaign concluded October 12 at Hanford, Calif., although “special events” remain at Perris and at Peoria, Ariz. November 14-16. The Southwest series is also involved in both the Perris and Peoria events, with points being awarded at Peoria.

Danny Faria Jr. of Tipton, Calif. emerged as the 2013 West Coast Champion, while R.J. Johnson of Phoenix, Ariz. leads the current Southwest standings. Johnson’s lead over runner-up Charles Davis Jr. is 57 points.

Faria has not competed at Perris this year, while Johnson has five USAC/CRA outings at the half-mile dirt oval, his best finish being a seventh.

Perris Auto Speedway continues with AMSOIL USAC National and USAC/CRA competition on Friday and Saturday nights, closing out the “Budweiser Oval Nationals,” with Saturday night’s feature winner claiming a check for $15,000!

2013 USAC SOUTHWEST SPRINT CAR STANDINGS: 1-R.J. Johnson-1,161, 2-Charles Davis Jr.-1,104, 3-Mike Martin-965, 4-Shon Deskins-860, 5-Ronnie Clark-827, 6-Josh Pelkey-788, 7-Andy Reinbold-765, 8-Bryan Hosford-629, 9-Chris Bonneau-625, 10-Bruce St. James-614.

2013 USAC WEST COAST SPRINT CAR FINAL STANDINGS: 1-Danny Faria Jr.-930, 2-Richard Vander Weerd-903, 3-Bud Kaeding-862, 4-Markus Niemela-677, 5-Rusty Carlile-665, 6-Ryan Bernal-661, 7-Jace Vander Weerd-609, 8-Austin Liggett-545, 9-Landon Hurst-492, 10-Kevin Barnes-440.