Kuhn, Ecker & Paderta headline Badger Midget banquet

By Bryan Gapinski

Sun Prairie, Wis., Nov. 2 — Driver Champion Brad Kuhn and car owner Bill Ecker headlined the list of honorees at the annual Badger Midget Auto Racing Association awards banquet Saturday Night at the Angell Park Pavilion . The event brought the curtain down on the 77th anniversary season for the series sponsored by Mid-State Equipment and the Stark Automotive Group.bmara
 Kuhn’s season was highlighted by a feature victory and eleven top three feature finishes in the nineteen race schedule.  It was the fourth Badger Midget Championship for Kuhn (2006, ’07, ’11), each with a different car owner. Kuhn was the main driver of the Ecker No. 57 Spike/Fontana, which also scored points during the season with drivers Thomas Meseruall, Daniel Robinson, Casey Shuman and Mike Spencer.
Other award winners included: Michael Pickens (Terry Vaughn Award),  Steve Wineke  (Mechanic of the Year), Zach Daum (Frank Conner Award), Quinn McCabe (Pat Stender Award), Andrew Felker (Kevin Doty Award), Todd Lehr (Rookie of the Year), Roger Hamilton (Media Award), Bob Koltes, Kenny Brown, Amy Schulz, Jeff Arns, and Jerry Hardy (Appreciation Award), Mid-State Equipment, Stark Automotive, Don’s Home Furniture, Advance Fastening Supply, 1855 Saloon, and Cardinal Heating (Sponsor Appreciation), Danny Felker (Best Appearing Car), and Jerry Hatton (Best Dressed Crew). 

Matt Paderta finished seventeen points ahead of two-time series champion Chad Bogar to win the Badger 600 Micro series Championship. Jason Dull, Vance Lein and Brandon Sletten completed the top five.