Pestka Is The Champion of Champions

From Phil Michell

Adialide, AU — (March 8, 2014) — Strathalbyn’s Dan Pestka put a tough year behind him by winning the Martelco Hire Champion of Champions at Speedway City last night. After starting on the pole courtesy of his dash win earlier Pestka fell back to second and trailed current Australian Champion Dave Murcott until the final corner when Pestka executed an inside pass to steal the win on the finish line.

“This is the first time that I have ever been on the podium for a race here other than a few club shows. I have just got to thank everyone who has stuck by me all season, it has been a tough year and I can’t believe we won it” added Pestka on the podium.

“We (Murcott and Pestka) touched coming out of turn two on the final lap and then I just got a good run out of the final turn and I just got there” he added.

Second placed David Murcott was clearly disappointed after leading a majority of the race but he was still extremely happy with how the car performed.

“We have finally got the car to a point it is great to drive but you just hate losing a race like that on the last corner. I used up too much of the tyre getting past him in the first place but credit to him he made a clean pass”.

Third across the line was Trevor Green, who continued his impressive form this year as he stormed from position 8 after failing to start the dash.

Fourth across the line was Matt Egel while Steven Lines was strangely off the pace in the final as he settled for fifth. Brad Keller, Jamie Cobby, Brendan Quinn, Darren Mollenoyux and Hayden Pitt rounded out the top 10.

With a “World of Outlaw” format being utilised the meeting consisted of time trials, three heats, a dash, B-main and the 35 lap finale.

Dave Murcott was the quickest driver in time trials with a lap of 12.444 while the three heat winners were Pestka, Lines and Keller. Keller was the highest qualifier and inverted the top four for the dash putting Pestka on the front and he went on to secure the win while Pitt, Luke Dillon, Ryan Jones, Steven Caruso and Leith Ahlfors transferred from the B-Main.

Throughout the night there were several big incidents including James McFadden who rode out a huge crash on the back straight in heat two after contact with Luke Dillon, who was later sent to rear of the field before cutting his right rear tyre and failing to finish.

Ryan Jones and Robbie Farr were also involved in a nasty crash in the A-Main with both cars sustaining major damage.

Night 2 of the “Sprintcar Double Header” takes place at Murray Bridge tonight with the running of the 3rd Annual MTA 40 Lap Marathon.