Short Wins at Bloomington

Brady Short at speed during racing on Friday at Bloomington Speedway. - James McDonald /
Brady Short in victory lane after winning Friday night at Bloomington Speedway. - James McDonald /
Brady Short in victory lane after winning Friday night at Bloomington Speedway. – James McDonald /

From Chris Nun

Bloomington, IN — (April 18, 2014) — Early afternoon clouds gave way to sunny skies for the second race of the 2014 racing season at Bloomington Speedway on Friday night. A full pit area of Sprint Cars, Modifieds, Super Stocks, and Hornets graced the grounds once again for the second week in a row. The Modifieds were using tonight as a final tune-up for next weekend’s American Modified Series inaugural J.B. Robinson Memorial, which will pay $1,500 to win.

Nick Bilbee and Dakota Jackson made up the front row for the Sprint Car feature with Bilbee leading lap one over Jackson and last week’s winner Casey Shuman. The caution flew on lap two, as Jared Fox spun off of turn three. Bilbee took off like a rocket on the restart, opening up a six car advantage on Jackson before the caution flew again on lap four for Bradley Sterrett. Shuman took second on the restart from Jackson, only to see Brady Short take second from him one lap later. Another caution flew on lap eight, as Carson Short pulled to a stop on the front stretch. Brandon Morin took a nasty flip on the restart, but was able to get out of the car on his own power. Bilbee stayed married to the bottom of the track forcing Brady Short to try the trickier high side to get around him. Bilbee led at halfway over Short, Shuman, Chris Babcock, and Jackson. Bilbee maintained a five car length advantage over Short, as the field completed lap 16. Another caution flew on lap 17, as Shelby VanGilder spun in turn three. Short moved to the outside of Bilbee on the restart, and took the lead on lap 19. With five to go, Short began to pull away from Bilbee. Behind them, Seth Parker was ripping the highside, moving forward into the top five. Short was able to cruise to the win over Bilbee, Shuman, Jackson, and Parker.

Nick Bilbee, Dakota Jackson, and Casey Shuman won the Sprint car heats. Kent Christian won the B-Main

Steve Hawkins and Steve Hollars paced the Super Stock feature to the green flag, with Tyler Cain coming from third to lead lap one over Hollars. Lee Hobbs and Hollars waged a battle for the second spot, with Hobbs taking it on lap five. Chip Slagle brought out the yellow, on lap seven. Cain and Hobbs began to pull away from the field on the restart, with Cain holding a half straight lead over Hobbs. Behind them, Aaron Fields began to work on Hollars for the third spot at halfway. Fields took third from Hollars on lap 13, and worked up to the tail of Hobbs for second. Cain worked his way through lapped traffic with ease, putting two lapped markers between he and Hobbs. Fields moved around Hobbs with six laps to go for the second spot. Cain was able to take the win over Fields, Hobbs, Hollars, and Jack Frye. The win was Cains third on the season, and his first at Bloomington.

Super Stock heat race winners were Aaron Fields, Lee Hobbs, and Marty Cooper

Wes Leigh and Joe Godsey took the green in the Modified main event with Leigh leading the first lap over Godsey and Brad Barrow. Godsey was able to take the lead from Leigh, and start to pull away in the modified that Tony Stewart drives. After a lap three caution, Godsey and Leigh battled for the lead, with Godsey barely hanging on. Leigh took the lead back on lap six, leaving Godsey to battle with Roy Bruce Jr for second. Bruce was able to take the second spot on lap seven. Disaster would strike Godsey as he broke just before the halfway mark, bringing out the caution. Barrow took the lead on the restart, bringing Bruce with him to second. Barrow opened up a six car length advantage on Bruce, as the field took the five to go signal. Behind Barrow, Bruce and Kenny Carmichael Jr battled for the second spot. The caution flew on lap 22, as Chad Combs and Derek Groomer collected each other in turn two. Disaster would strike Bruce, as he broke on the restart, bringing out another caution. Barrow was able to stave off the Carmichael family challenge to take the win. Barrow was able to collect the win, his first in ANY division at Bloomington, over Carmichael Jr, Carmichael Sr, Leigh, and Randy Tarter.

Chad Combs, Brad Barrow, and Joe Godsey won the Modified heats

Whitney Baldwin and Greg Garrison led the Hornet feature to the green with Garrison leading the first lap. Last week’s winner Dan Morgan brought out the caution on lap three, and would have to make a charge from the back. Behind Garrison, the second through fifth place cars narrowly avoided wadding each other up on lap seven. Luke Bland took second out of that mess, and began to charge towards Garrison up front. After a caution, Bland and Garrison ran side by side for the lead, with Bland taking it with five laps to go. With three to go, Bland opened up a two car advantage over Garrison. Bland would hold on for the win over Garrison, Matt Hamilton, Felisha Deweese, and Justin Patterson.

Whitney Baldwin, Greg Garrison, and Dan Morgan picked up the Hornet heat wins. Chris Deckard won the B-Main.

The American Modified Series will make their second ever appearance at Bloomington Speedway next Friday night for the inaugural “J.B. Robinson Memorial” paying $1,500 to win for the UMP Modifieds. Sprint Cars, Super Stocks, and Hornets will make up the remainder of the program.