NAPA Wayne County offers bonus if one of their sprint drivers wins at Fremont

Fremont Speedway Tease
Brian Lay Bob Buffenbarger photo

By Brian Liskai


ORRVILLE, OHIO – Fremont Speedway and the NAPA Wayne County Speedway both have some of the best weekly winged sprint car drivers in Ohio that compete Saturday nights. So which track has better drivers?

 fremont speedway 2012 logo

This Saturday, May 10 is an opportunity to possibly determine the answer to that question.


Fremont Speedway will host the winged 410 sprints of the Fort Ball Pizza Palace Division in a $2,500 to win affair on Baumann Auto Group Night. The NAPA Wayne County Speedway will play host to the non-wing Buckeye Machine BOSS (Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series) teams on Bremenour Electric Night, giving their normal weekly winged drivers an opportunity to challenge the tough Fremont regulars.


And NAPA Wayne County Speedway Promoter Jason Flory is offering a $500 bonus if one of the drivers in his track’s top 10 in points can win the feature Saturday at Fremont Speedway.


Fredericksburg, Ohio’s Brad Haudenschild has won the first two feature events of the season at the NAPA Wayne County Speedway and has won in previous years at Fremont Speedway. Wooster, Ohio’s Broc Martin finished second last week at Wayne County and has recorded a sixth and a third place run at Fremont so far this season. Other drivers that could take that bonus money include Millersburg, Ohio’s Rob Chaney or Dalton, Ohio’s Lee Jacobs, both of whom have won at both tracks in the past. Throw in Danny Mumaw, Jason Dolick, Shawn Hubler and others and Flory may have to dig into his wallet.


But, so far at Fremont Speedway, four time track champion Byron Reed has recorded three top five finishes with former champion Craig Mintz posting back to back fourth place runs. Also defending their home turf will be Caleb Griffith who scored a win on April 26; Stuart Brubaker who has back-to-back eighth place finishes; Brian Lay who has two top five finishes this season; Chris Andrews who scored a third place finish recently; and other drivers like Bryan Sebetto, Duane Zablocki, Brian Smith, Travis Philo, DJ Foos, Jody Keegan, and a host of other tough weekly competitors.


Saturday at Fremont the King of the Hill event will determine the front row of the 30-lap feature event. The top eight qualifiers who transfer out of their heat into the feature will be matched up in two car, two lap match races with the winner moving to the next round until there is a King of the Hill who can choose to start on the pole or outside of the front row in the feature.


For times and ticket information for Fremont Speedway go to and for the NAPA Wayne County Speedway go to