urc United Racing Company Logo

From Bob Miller

Bedford, PA — (June 27, 2014) — Mark Smith of Sunbury, PA was not sure of his plans for Friday night, but once he got to the track, he was committed to winning, and he made it all look easy at the Bedford Speedway. Smith, driving the MACH1 Chassis sprint car started seventh and took the lead on lap nine to score his second Rislone URC Sprint Series feature of 2014. Smith earned $2,000 for the win in the 25 lap feature event. It was the seventh career win with URC for Mark Smith.

Two heat race events were presented with Smith and URC’s point leader Davie “No Panic” Franek earning the victories.

Randy West of Boyertown, PA was the early race leader, setting the pace for the first six laps. The first caution was displayed for Andy Best who came to a stop on the backstretch on lap six. On the restart, West led lap seven before the second caution of the race was displayed, this time for Jimmy Stitzel who stopped in turn four.

The restart appeared to be the turning point of the race as eight time Rislone URC Champion Curt Michael powered into the lead. Not far behind was a charging Mark Smith. Michael set the pace for just one lap as Smith bolted into the lead on lap nine. Michael was not going to give up that easy as he battled to regain the lead for the next three circuits.

At the halfway point of the race, Smith and Michael were the top two followed by Randy West, Davie Franek and Josh Weller.

Smith quickly mastered the big half mile oval at Bedford and stretched out a comfortable lead over Michael.

On a charge was Brian Carber of Pipersville, PA. Carber started outside the top twelve spots and was working his way through traffic one car at a time. Carber made it sixth but ran short of time to break into the top five.

At the checker flag, Mark Smith was the winner followed by Curt Michael, Randy West, Davie Franek and Josh Weller.

FEATURE FINISH: Mark Smith, Curt Michael, Randy West, Davie Franek, Josh Weller, Brian Carber, Brock Zearfoss, Robbie Stillwaggon, Ed Aikin, Troy Betts, Jonathan Swanson, Will Eggimann, Brad Franks, Jason Cherry, Jimmy Stitzel, Scott Lutz, Any Best, Tony Fiori
Fred’s Trailer Parts Hard Charger: Brian Carber advanced 7 spots in the feature.

The Rislone URC Sprints will be in action Saturday night, June 28 at the Selinsgrove Speedway in Selinsgrove, PA.