urc United Racing Company Logo

urc United Racing Company LogoFrom Bob Miller

Selinsgrove, PA — (June 28, 2014) — Davie No Panic Franek of Wantage, NJ was on a mission Saturday night at the Selinsgrove Speedway.

After winning his heat race, Franek went on to win the Rislone URC Firecracker 30 Saturday night at Selinsgrove Speedway. Franek started sixth and with a brilliant outside move, took the lead on lap two. Franek appeared to have the field covered but on lap twenty, Derek Locke challenged and took the lead from Franek for just a moment. At the same time, the yellow flag was displayed for Mike Walter II who stopped in turn two. On the double-file restart, Franek not only took the lead, he ran to hide from the rest of the field. Mark Smith moved into second on lap twenty and tried to reel in the leader but Franek had the field covered and went on to collect the $2,500 first place prize. For Franek, URC’s point leader, this marked his first win of the season with URC and his second career win.

The three heat race winners were Ed Aikin, Davie Franek and Mike Walters Jr.

In the thirty lap feature, pole sitter Ed Aikin led the first lap with Franek powering into the lead on lap two. Derek Locke was on a change moving into second with Mike Walters in third. The race ran non-stop to this point and at the halfway point, Franek was the leader followed by Locke, Mike Walters II, Brock Zearfoss and Jason Shultz.

Slower traffic appeared to slow down Franek as Locke closed in on the leader. On lap twenty, going down the backstretch, Locke and Zearfoss were all over the leader with Locke inching slightly into the lead just as the yellow flag was displayed. Mike Walter II tagged the second turn wall and came to a stop.

On the double-file restart, Franek and Locke were about to duke it out but Franek just ran away from the entire field. Mark Smith in his MACH 1 Chassis sprinter moved into second but never challenge Franek for the win.

Franek took the checker flag and the win over Mark Smith, Brock Zearfoss, TJ Stutts and Pat Cannon.

FEATURE FINISH: Davie Franek, Mark Smith, Brad Zearfoss, TJ Stutts, Pat Cannon, Derek Locke, Jason Shultz, Mike Walter, Josh Weller, Robbie Stillwaggon, Curt Michael, Ryan Kissinger, Jason Clauss, Troy Betts, Ed Aikin, Colby Womer, Jordan Thomas, Derek Steward, Brad Franks, Mike Walter II, Larry Kelleher, Randy West, Jimmy Stitzel, Jonathan Swanson, Will Eggimann. DNS- – Danny Massey, Cody Keller