Koby Walters Claims His Second URSS Win At RPM Speedway

2015 Top Story OCRS Oil Capital Racing Series


Hays, KS — (May 30, 2015) — After Mother Nature tried her best to thwart the efforts of track crews and racers alike the United Rebel Sprint Series rolled into RPM Speedway Saturday night for the first of four events on the 2015 Racing Schedule. Seventeen cars made their way to the high clay oval to do battle under the stars, a rarity this spring in Western Kansas.

Tracey Hill led the field to the green as the Rebels kicked off the twenty five lap Feature event. Outside pole sitter Keefe Hemel grabbed the lead followed by Jed Werner in the runner up spot and a hard charging Steven Richardson rocketed his way to third from his eighth starting spot with Tracey Hill and Jordan Randels rounding out the top five after the first circuit. Hemel’s lead was short lived and Werner took the position away on lap two bringing Richardson with him relegating Hemel to the third spot. Hill would retake the third spot on lap three as tenth place starter Koby Walters began his drive to the front.

Lap five saw the battle for the lead heat up as Richardson caught Werner, the pair were side by side in turn three but Richardson powered by using the high side to take over the lead on lap six. Wakeeney Speedway winner Jeff Radcliffe had made his way to sixth spot and was challenging Walters for the position by lap eight with the pair following the tire tracks of Hemel. As the leaders approached lapped traffic Hemel jumped the rim of the track allowing Walters and Radcliffe to advance bringing James Riner along with them on lap nine.

Conner Atkinson was steadily making her way through traffic and was solidly in the eighth spot as she moved to challenge Riner for the seventh spot for several laps finally taking the spot away on lap eleven. Richardson pulled out to a comfortable lead over Werner as Hill, Walters, Radcliffe and Atkinson were bunched up by lapped traffic. Atkinson took a spot away from Radcliffe but that was short lived as Atkinson’s ride slowed to a stop on the back stretch on lap fifteen.

Walters challenged Hill for the third spot for several laps before he took the position for good on lap seventeen and set his sights on the leaders. Richardson looked as he was cruising to victory when on lap twenty the right tire went flat coming off of turn four to bring out the caution. Track crews got him back to the pits for repairs and Richardson rejoined the tail end of the field.

On the restart, Werner brought the field to the green but coming off of turn four Walters powered by on the low side to take the lead followed by Radcliffe, Hill and the 9D of lance Davis who had methodically made his way through the field to round out the top five. James Riner was hot on the heels of Hill and grabbed the fifth spot on lap twenty one with Keefe Hemel on his tail tank. Steven Richardson was once again on tear as he made his way to the seventh spot lap twenty three and was looking to make up even more ground. Richardson would pick up two more spots on lap twenty four going from fourteenth to sixth in just five laps.

As the white flag was displayed for the leaders, Walters was not going to be denied. Walters held off Werner for the victory with Werner, Radcliffe, Davis and Riner rounding out the top five. The victory was Koby Walters second of his young United Rebel Sprint Series career.

Walters also picked up the Keizer Aluminum Wheels hard charger award, moving up 9 spots for the win.

Heat Race winners were Koby Walters, Connor Atkinson

RPM Speedway A Feature
1 Koby Walters, 33
2 Jed Werner, 50
3 Jeff Radcliffe, 21r
4 Lance Davis, 9D
5 James Riner, 2
6 Steven Richardson, 0
7 Keefe Hemel, 11
8 Jeremy Huish, 88j
9 Tracy Hill, 28
10 Cody Lampe, 1x
11 Jordan Randles, 007
12 Ryan Walters, 3
13 Brandon Sprott, 18
14 Aaron Ploussard, 33k
15 Connor Atkinson, 17 – DNF
16 Shawn Radcliffe, 7 – DNF
17 Craig Jecha, 17x DNS

Heat race winners, Koby Walters, Atkinson

The Keizer Aluminum Wheels hard charger award goes to Koby Walters, moving up 9 spots for the win.