16 drivers ready to compete in the Race of Champions at Fremont Speedway

2010MarkKeeganFrom Brian Liskai

Fremont, OH — (June 3, 2015) — Sixteen drivers have signed up to participate in the 2nd Annual Fremont Speedway Race of Legends. These former sprint car drivers will get behind the wheel of 305 sprint cars and compete in a full program including qualifying, heat races and a feature event.

The inaugural Race of Legends became one of the most talked about events in sprint car racing last season. Fremont Speedway legend and hall-of-famer Mark Keegan would win the feature event.

The 16 drivers signed up for the 2015 Race of Legends includes: Keegan; Fremont’s 1978 track champion John Naida who will be inducted into the Fremont Speedway Hall of Fame; hall-of-famer and former track champion Eric Rankine; Jim Sipe who now owns a 305 sprint car driven by John Ivy; Skip Miller, whose son Jamie currently drives a 305 sprint; brothers and hall-of-famers Steve and Al Liskai; Jerry Nemire, whose grandson is an up-and-coming midget and silver crown driver; former sprint car stand-out Charlie Fisher; Lee Potter, who will be inducted into the Fremont Speedway Hall of Fame; one of the original 305 sprint drivers Brian Neeb; former 360 sprint stand-out Kenny Clark Jr.; former 410 sprint stand-out David Harrison, whose son, Josh, currently races 305 sprint cars; another of the original 305 sprint drivers Joey Keegan; former mini-sprint and 305 sprint driver Benny Bowman; and former 410 sprint driver Lee French, whose son, Ryan, currently races 305 sprint cars.

“A huge thank-you to all the 305 sprint teams who volunteered to give up their cars for the Race of Legends. None of this would be possible without them and I know myself and all the fans really appreciate their sacrifice. This is always one of the most fun and exciting nights at Fremont Speedway,” said Rich Farmer, track promoter.

Prior to the night’s racing, 11 individuals will be inducted into the Fremont Speedway Hall of Fame. Gates will open at 2 p.m. with the Hall of Fame induction ceremonies taking place in the covered grandstands at 3 p.m. Admission is required to attend the ceremonies but that also includes admission into the night’s racing which is slated to begin at 7 p.m.

For more information go to www.fremontohspeedway.com