Hines wins at Plymouth

Tracy Hines RPM Graphix

By Anita Soltis

Tracy Hines RPM Graphix
Tracy Hines
RPM Graphix

Plymouth, IN — (September 12, 2015) — Tracy Hines won the sprint car feature Saturday night at Plymouth Speedway. Kody Kinser, Randy Hannagan, Tyler Courtney, and Devon Dobie rounded out the top five.

The World Series of Dirt challenge Saturday night at Plymouth Speedway not only showed strength on the track, but strength as a racing community when the green flag dropped on the third annual event.  The night proved the best of each class and the best of how to help others in need.

Drivers and fans came to the aid of driver Kevin Swindell who was injured in a Sprint Car accident in August while qualifying for the Knoxville Nationals.  Swindell continues to recover from multiple surgeries.  On Saturday night, Sprint Car driver Randy Hannagan spoke of the passion drivers have to be active in the sport as that passion can be dangerous at times.  Helmets were passed through the crowd where money was collected to aid the Swindell family for whatever need they see a priority.  The #BulldogStrong 30, run by 410 and 360 Sprint car drivers, was featured as a tribute to Swindell.

Tyler Courtney, of Indianapolis, looked to have the race sewn up by the halfway point, but had trouble coming out of turn two on the 19th lap of the feature.  That allowed Tracey Hines of Wilkinson, Indiana to go by him on the inside and take over the lead.  It wasn’t long after that pass when Courtney was into the wall and brought out the first caution.  Hines would hold onto the first position to claim the victory.   Kody Kinser, of Bloomington, Indiana, started ninth and used the outside groove to finish second while Randy Hannagan started third and finished third.

“I’m still learning how to drive a Winged Sprint and I’ve got a lot to learn,” said Hines.  “I think this win is is good start.”

Kody Kinser won the Hard Charger award presented by Smiley Auto Parts ($100 gift certificate); Dakota Bushe won the 10th place award; Randy Hannagan was the recipient of the $300 top 360 Sprint finisher award presented by Michiana Balloon Rides; Matthew VanderVere won a right rear Hoosier tire thanks to Huffman Electric and Timberline Tree Service; and Tyler Courtney was the winner of the Dash worth $100 offered by Boggs Automotive.

Plymouth Speedway
Plymouth, IN
Saturday September 12, 2015

1. 4 – Tracy Hines
2. 4K – Kody Kinser
3. 22H – Randy Hannagan
4. 23E – Tyler Courtney
5. 23 – Devon Dobie
6. 10V – Matthew Vandervere
7. 36A – Kevin Atkins
8. 49 – Shawn Dancer
9. 27 – Beau Stewart
10. 16B – Dakota Bushe
11. 7 – Joe Swanson
12. 23G – Joe Geibe
13. X – Zane Devault
14. 19J – Linden Jones