BOSS releases 2016 schedule


The much anticipated 2016 Mo Vaughn Transport / Buckeye Outlaw Sprint Series schedule is now official. The last five seasons have seen steady growth and this season is no exception. Two new venues have been added and one track is back after a year’s absence. All of the traditional stops are back and the most prestigious race on the tour has found a new Sunday home on Memorial Day weekend.

A record twenty-two events will make up the tour as the last TRUE outlaws of sprint car racing will attack 16 different tracks in 3 states. Ten of the best facilities the Buckeye state has to offer will host events with the season opener on Saturday, April 30th at Atomic Speedway near Chillicothe, Ohio. In July, BOSS made a triumphant return to the 3/8 mile oval with what many people called the best race in the track’s history. The 25 lap green to checker non stop feature saw 3 different leaders on the final circuit with the trio closing for a photo finish. Todd Kane narrowly edged Landon Simon and Dallas Hewitt, with Hewitt flipping down the front straight at the checkers!

Fremont Speedway and Atomic Speedway will play host to the series three times. Wayne County Speedway and Lawrenceburg Speedway will be visited twice each with return visits to Millstream, Limaland, Legendary Hilltop and Waynesfield all in Ohio. The tour will once again enter Pennsylvania for 3 nights of racing with return engagements at Mercer Raceway Park, Lernerville Speedway and Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway. Four events will take place in the Hoosier state. In addition to the two races at Lawrenceburg, a return visit to Montpelier Motor Speedway is on tap and Whitewater Valley Speedway will make a return to the tour after a year off.

The exciting news is the addition of two new premiere facilities in Ohio. Attica Raceway Park will host its long awaited first ever BOSS event on Friday, July 8th in a doubleheader with Waynesfield’s Dick Spencer Memorial the following night. The other major new addition is the tour’s first ever visit to Portsmouth Raceway Park located on the Ohio river. PRP is home of the $100,000 to win late model Dirt Track World Championship and has not hosted an open wheel event in several years. One of the nicest tracks in the state, it has remained a mystery for the die-hard open wheel fans. That all changes as July 23rd will give them a reason to experience PRP first hand.

Twenty-two events on 16 different tracks ranging from the tight quarter mile at Legendary Hilltop to the monster 5/8 mile Pittsburgh Motor Speedway. The 2016 race trail promises to be as diverse as the drivers who proudly make up the series. A true traveling TOUR hitting all the best tracks in and around the state. Mark your calendar’s now!

Watch for many more exciting announcements in the next few weeks. Fans and teams can rest assured that there will be no changes to the BOSS program and no needless requirements or rule changes will be made. The Outlaws of BOSS will continue to race under the open tire rule with no minimum weight rule and no memberships or entry fees of any kind. Once again, a cash points fund of over $15,000 plus prizes and awards will be up for grabs for the top 15 in final points standings.

For more information, be sure to follow the series on Facebook and Twitter or keep an eye on the website at

2016 Mo Vaughn Transport / BOSS Schedule

Sat. April 30 – Atomic Speedway ; Chillicothe, OH

Sat. May 7 – Fremont Speedway ; Fremont, OH

Sat. May 21 – Wayne County Speedway ; Orrville, OH

Sat. May 28 – Mercer Raceway Park ; Mercer, PA
Sun. May 29 – Fremont Speedway ; Fremont, OH ($5,000 to win Hensel Memorial)

Fri. June 10 – Limaland Motorsports Park ; Lima, OH
Sat. June 11 – Lawrenceburg Speedway ; Lawrenceburg, IN

Fri. July 1 – Lernerville Speedway ; Sarver, PA
Sat. July 2 – Pittsburgh’s Pennsylvania Motor Speedway ; Imperial, PA

Fri. July 8 – Attica Raceway Park ; Attica, OH
Sat. July 9 – Waynesfield Raceway Park ; Waynesfield, OH (Spencer Memorial)

Sat. July 23 – Portsmouth Raceway Park ; Portsmouth, OH

Fri. July 29 – Whitewater Valley Speedway ; Liberty, IN
Sat. July 30 – Lawrenceburg Speedway ; Lawrenceburg, IN (Soudrette Memorial)

Sat. August 6 – Wayne County Speedway ; Orrville, OH

Fri. August 26 – Legendary Hilltop Speedway ; Marietta, OH
Sat. August 27 – Atomic Speedway ; Chillicothe, OH

Sat. September 10 – Montpelier Motor Speedway ; Montpelier, IN
Sun. September 11 – Millstream Speedway ; Findlay, OH

Sat. September 24 – Atomic Speedway ; Chillicothe, OH

Sat. October 1 – Fremont Speedway ; Fremont, OH

Sat. October 8 – Eldora Speedway ; Rossburg, OH