Freddie Rahmer wins at Lincoln Speedway

Lincoln Speedway Top Story

From Bill Meyer

Abbottstown, PA — (April 2, 2016) — On a bizarre night that saw the three leaders all drop from the field on the same lap, Freddie Rahmer assumed the lead and held off Cory Haas and Gerard McIntyre for his second career win at Lincoln Speedway Saturday night.

Rahmer started eighth and was running fourth when brother Brandon and Adam Wilt got together and both spun in turn two of lap 20. At the same time, third-place Austin Hogue went up in smoke and headed to the infield, ending his night.
“I don’t know what happened to my brother there,” said Rahmer in victory lane, “It’s a shame for him…he was running good laps. I got into a rhythm there about half-way through. I got by Hogue and then messed up, got back by him….and that won the race because we lost those cars.”

Brandon Rahmer started on the pole and led every lap up until his misfortune on lap 20. Wilt had started tenth and was on Brandon’s bumper when the two leaders spun.

The anticipated drive from mid-pack up through the field by former champ Danny Dietrich and defending champ Brian Montieth ended abruptly on lap two when they were caught up in a chain-reaction crash which started with Brandon Rahmer almost into the wall while leading in turn two. Rahmer came down across the track and collected JJ Grasso, but Rahmer never stopped and, in the confusion, both Dietrich and Montieth tangled into the back stretch guardrail, ending both racers’ night.

“I’m glad to win, but I wish Brandon had a good finish,” said Rahmer, “I want to thank Moon (Byers) for getting the car really good and Don Ott for the good engines. Leffler Energy has come on board as a sponsor, and Miller Brothers and A.R.A.N. Trading are also good sponsors. I think these guys know they gotta race me now.”

Haas crossed 1.47 seconds behind Rahmer, with McIntyre third. Alan Krimes (who started 15th) and Glenndon Forsythe (who started 13th) completed the top five. Sixth through tenth were 16th-starting Robbie Kendall, 19th-starting Jim Siegel, Billy Dietrich, Scott Fisher, and 20th-starting Tyler Ross.

Both of Rahmer’s Lincoln wins came after advancing from fourth to first on the same lap. Last time, it was a late 2015 event in which Rahmer came from fourth to first in wild last-lap racing.

Heats for the 28 410 sprints were won by Grasso, Montieth, and Danny Dietrich, with Siegel winning the consolation.

The “358” sprint car feature was no less bizarre, with polesitter Adrian Shaffer leading the first 13 laps before spinning around exiting turn four, handing the lead over to Jeff Rohrbaugh. Despite the spin, Shaffer was able to complete the ‘360’ and hang on to second.

Four laps later, the predicted high winds and rain arrived, ending the event after 17 laps.

With his 14th career win, Rohrbaugh became the all-time winningest 358 driver at Lincoln.

Third through fifth behind runner-up Shaffer were Kyle Denmyer, Chandler Leiby, and Cody Fletcher.

Heats for the 31 358 sprints were won by Rohrbaugh, Leiby, and Wyatt Hinkle (who scratched from the feature event), with Troy Wagaman, Jr. winning the consolation.

The sudden wind and rain forced postponement of the 20-lap Central PA Legends feature. That event will be made up when the Legends return on April 23rd.
Heats for the 20 Legends were won by Harlon Leppo and Chad Earnst.

Next weekend, Saturday, April 9th, Lincoln Speedway will host another three-division show featuring the 410 Sprints, Super Sportsman, and Street Stocks at 7 PM. Gates will open at 5 PM.

Saturday, April 2, 2016
Abbottstown, PA

Lawrence Chevrolet 410 Sprints:

410 Sprint Feature (25 Laps) – 1. 51-Freddie Rahmer ($3,200); 2. 11C-Cory Haas; 3. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 4. 87-Alan Krimes; 5. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe; 6. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 7. 59-Jimmy Siegel; 8. 8-Billy Dietrich; 9. 21T-Scott Fisher; 10. 5-Tyler Ross; 11. 37-JJ Grasso; 12. 39-Tim Glatfelter; 13. 15-Adam Wilt; 14. 75-Nicole Bower; 15. 91-David Quackenbush; 16. 98-Joe Trenca; 17. 99M-Kyle Moody (DNF); 18. 35-Steve Owings (DNF); 19. 88-Brandon Rahmer (DNF); 20. 52-Austin Hogue (DNF); 21. 10-Joe Kata III (DNF); 22. 1X-Chad Trout (DNF); 23. 48-Danny Dietrich (DNF); 24. 21-Brian Montieth (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders – Brandon Rahmer (1-19), Freddie Rahmer (20-25)

410 Sprint Heat One Finish (10 laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 37-JJ Grasso; 2. 8-Billy Dietrich; 3. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 4. 51-Freddie Rahmer; 5. 2W-Glenndon Forsythe; 6. 55K-Robbie Kendall; 7. 59-Jim Siegel; 8. 39-Tim Glatfelter; 9. 1X-Chad Trout; 10. 00-Danny Varin (DNF). No Time

410 Sprint Heat Two Finish (10 laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 21-Brian Montieth; 2. 21T-Scott Fisher; 3. 11C-Cory Haas; 4. 88-Brandon Rahmer; 5. 35-Steve Owings; 6. 91-David Quackenbush; 7. 5-Tyler Ross; 8. 75-Nicole Bower; 9. 29-James Pryde. No Time

410 Sprint Heat Three Finish (10 laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 48-Danny Dietrich; 2. 15-Adam Wilt; 3. 99M-Kyle Moody; 4. 52-Austin Hogue; 5. 87-Alan Krimes; 6. 10K-Joe Kata III; 7. 98-Joe Trenca; 8. 6-Todd Berkheimer; 9. 69-Shane Hoff (DNF). No Time

410 Sprint Consolation Finish (10 laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 59-Jimmy Siegel; 2. 5-Tyler Ross; 3. 39-Tim Glatfelter; 4. 98-Joe Trenca; 5. 1X-Chad Trout; 6. 75-Nicole Bower; 7. 6-Todd Berkheimer; 8. 29-Jame Pryde; DNS – 69-Shane Hoff, 00-Danny Varin. No Time

358 Sprints:

358 Sprint Feature (17 Laps/Shortened due to rain) – 1. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 2. 27S-Adrian Shaffer; 3. 38D-Kyle Denmyer; 4. 119-Chandler Leiby; 5. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 6. 66-Doug Hammaker; 7. 23-Chris Arnold; 8. 4-Dwight Leppo; 9. 35-Tyler Esh; 10. 12-Brent Shearer; 11. 19-Troy Wagaman, Jr.; 12. 89-Ashley Cappetta; 13. 28-Matt Findley; 14. 67-Justin Whittel; 15. 18F-Dyan Welch; 16. 23J-Jake Eldreth (DNF); 17. 41-Jeff Halligan (DNF);18. 5A-Brian Allman (DNF);19. 13-Ryan Higgins (DNF); 20. 16-Matt Campbell (DNF); 21. 59T-Tim Stallings (DNF); 22. 7-Trey Hivner (DNF); 23. 9-Daulton Dietrich (DNF); 24. 11D-Kody Hartlaub (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders – Adrian Shaffer (1-13), Jeff Rohrbaugh (14-17)

358 Sprint Heat One Finish (10 laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 45-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 2. 66A-Cody Fletcher; 3. 23-Chris Arnold; 4. 35-Tyler Esh; 5. 11D-Kody Hartlaub; 6. 89-Ashley Cappetta; 7. 18-Dylan Welsh; 8. 59T-Tim Stallings (DNF); 9. 21-CJ Tracey (DNF); 10. 9-Dalton Dietrich (DNF); DNS – 10B-Brandon Noel. No Time
358 Sprint Heat Two Finish (10 laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 119-Chandler Leiby; 2. 16-Matt Campbell; 3. 23J-Jake Eldreth; 4. 4-Dwight Leppo; 5. 66-Doug Hammaker; 6. 5A-Brian Allman; 7. 19-Troy Wagaman; 8. 67-Justin Whittel; 9. 17-George Streaker; 10. 19S-Steve Drevicki (DNF). No Time

358 Sprint Heat Three Finish (10 laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 19D-Wyatt Hinkle; 2. 12-Brent Shearer; 3. 38-Kyle Denmyer; 4. 27S-Adrian Shaffer; 5. 41-Jeff Halligan; 6. 28-Matt Findley; 7. 13-Ryan Higgins; 8. 97-Brie Hershey; 9. 7-Trey Hivner; DNS – 4R-Tyler Walton. Time – 2:26.97

358 Sprint Consolation Finish (10 laps/7 to qualify due to Wyatt Hinkle scratch) – 1. 19-Troy Wagaman, Jr.; 2. 59T-Tim Stallings; 3. 13-Ryan Higgins; 4. 67-Justin Whittel; 5. 7-Trey Hivner; 6. 18-Dylan Welsh; 7. 9-Dalton Dietrich; 8. 19S-Steve Drevicki; 9. 17-George Streaker, Jr.; 10. 97-Brie Hershey (DNF). DNS: 21-CJ Tracy; 10B-Brandon Noel. No time.