USAC Southwest Sprint Car Series Top Story


By Lance Jenningsusacsouthwestlogotopstory


APRIL 20, 2016… For the second time in series history, the USAC SouthWest Sprint Cars will invade Yuma, Arizona’s Cocopah Speedway this Saturday, April 23rd. The fourth point race will also showcase the IMCA Hobby Stocks, IMCA Sport Mods, IMCA Stock Cars, and IMCA Modifieds. The pit gates will open at 2:00pm, spectator gates will open at 5:00pm, and racing at the fast 3/8-mile facility will start at 7:00pm. For more event and ticket information, visit or call 928.344.1563.


On his way to his third series crown, R.J. Johnson won the April 11, 2015 debut at Cocopah Speedway. Matt Rossi, Shon Deskins, Mike Colegrove, and Josh Pelkey rounded out the top-five and Nick Aiuto earned “best passing job” honors with a fifteenth to seventh place run.


Entering Saturday’s event, Stevie Sussex (Tempe, Arizona) holds a ten point advantage over the competition. Driving Mike Burkhart’s #21AZ Stratis Construction / Westin Diversified RSS, Sussex ran sixth at the April 9th “Spring Fling” at Queen Creek. To date, the two-time Hank Arnold Memorial winner has one feature win, one heat race victory, one top-qualifier award, one hard charger award, four top-10 finishes, and 16 feature laps led to his credit. Stevie is currently tied for fourth in SouthWest wins and will be looking for his sixth victory this Saturday night.


R.J. Johnson (Laveen, Arizona) is second in the chase for the championship. Racing Bill Michael’s #77M Kodiak Products / Beal’s Auto Body Sherman, Johnson earned his first win of the season at Queen Creek’s “Spring Fling.” Heading to Cocopah, the three-time champion has two heat race victories, three top-qualifier awards, eight top-10 finishes, and 34 feature laps led on the year. R.J. will have his sights on claiming his series leading 34th feature win at Yuma.


“Chargin” Charles Davis Jr. (Buckeye, Arizona) sits third in the point standings. Piloting the Massey Motorsports’ #50 RSS Industries / Rod End Supply RSS, Davis ran second to Johnson at Arizona Speedway. At press time, the five-time Arizona champion has five heat race victories, one top-qualifier award, eight top-10 finishes, and 34 feature laps led on the season. “Chargin” Charles ranks second with 13 main event wins and will be looking to add another trophy to his collection.


After running third at Queen Creek, “The Magic Man” Mike Martin (Yuma, Arizona) has climbed to fourth in the point chase. Driving his #16 Sherwin-Williams / Boulevard Truck Maxim, Martin has posted three heat race victories, one hard charger award, six top-10 finishes, and 17 feature laps led. With five SouthWest triumphs, the former Hall of Fame Classic winner will have his sights on the hometown victory.


Josh Pelkey (Peoria, Arizona) is ranked fifth in the championship points. Racing Robbie & Gaye Allen’s #12 ABC Body Shop / Napa Auto Parts machine, Pelkey charged from nineteenth to score eighth at the April 9th “Spring Fling.” Heading to Cocopah, the 1997 ASCA Champion has two hard charger awards and two top-10 finishes on the year. This Saturday, Josh will be looking to claim his sixth USAC SouthWest main event win.


Among the other drivers expected to be in action are Nick Aiuto, Matt Rossi, “The Radio Flyer” Bruce St. James, “The Bull” Tye Mihocko, Tom Ogle, Dennis Gile, Chris Bonneau, Andy Reinbold, Brian Hosford, Shon Deskins, Michael Curtis, and more.


Cocopah Speedway is located at the intersection of US Highway 95 and County 15th Street in Somerton, Arizona. Adult tickets are $15, Senior/Military tickets are $13, Skybox tickets are $30, and Kids (12 & Under) are FREE. For more information, visit or call 928.344.1563.


For more information on the USAC SouthWest Sprint Car Series, visit,, or follow the series on Facebook.



2013-R.J. Johnson, 2014-R.J. Johnson, 2015-R.J. Johnson.



4-Bryan Clauson, 2-Josh Hodges, 1-R.J. Johnson, 1-Stevie Sussex.



1-R.J. Johnson.



  1. Stevie Sussex-226, 2. R.J. Johnson-216, 3. Charles Davis Jr.-195, 4. Mike Martin-159, 5. Josh Pelkey-153, 6. Nick Aiuto-140, 7. Matt Rossi-134, 8. Bruce St. James-128, 9. Tye Mihocko-125, 10. Tom Ogle-115, —. Dennis Gile-115, 12. Chris Bonneau-110, 13. Andy Reinbold-92, 14. Brian Hosford-88, 15. Bryan Clauson-79, 16. Landon Cling-77, 17. Shon Deskins-72, —. Brody Roa-72, 19. Brady Bacon-69, 20. Josh Hodges-68, —. Michael Curtis-68