Aaron Pierce wins at Anderson

Anderson Speedway

ANDERSON, Ind. (April 24, 2016) –  Aaron Pierce continued his domination of the Glenn Niebel Classic for non-wing sprint cars at Anderson Speedway on Saturday.


Pierce has won the 100-lap event honoring the multi-time winning car owner in the Pay Less Little 500 a record five times and in three of the last four events.


Tyler Roahrig started on the pole position after the fastest four qualifiers were inverted, which put Pierce who set fast time on the outside of the second row.


At the start Geoff Kaiser, looking for a second consecutive win at Anderson Speedway, took the lead chased by Pierce, Chris Neuenschwander, Travis Welpott and Roahrig.


The first caution flag waved on lap four when Roahrig appeared to break a suspension part and came to a stop along the back straight wall.


Nine laps later the final caution flag waved on lap 13 when Nick Landon spun in turn four.


With Kaiser on the point Pierce kept the pressure on the leader several times looking to get inside coming off the fourth corner with Neuenschwander a close third.


Finally, on lap 54 Kaiser slipped coming off the fourth corner which allowed Pierce to grab the point, a lead he would not surrender.


Neuenschwander moved into the second spot on lap 58 with an inside move coming off the second corner to drop Kaiser to the third spot.


Pierce won by 3.3-seconds followed by Neuenschwander, Kaiser, Welpott and Don Hamilton.