Miller wins Wingless Sprint Series feature at Cottage Grove

Cottage Grove, Oregon- Cottage Grove Speedway would host the fourth race of 2016 for the inaugural season of the Wingless Sprint Series.  Seventeen drivers would make the journey to the historic ¼-mile clay oval.  Teams from Oregon and Washington would make appearances.
Sutherlin teenager Cooper Desbiens would get his J.H. Desbiens Construction/Budget Lumber/Lithia Autobody/Oregon Tool & Supply #4D Maxim to the front on the opening lap.  Eugene’s Kyle Miller would make the pass on lap two and began to pull away from there.  Miller, in the Kady Adelman owned Machined For Speed By Craig Jensen/G.K. Machine & Fabrication #6A XXX, would develop a decent lead but a few cautions would keep the field close.
Shortly after a lap twelve restart Miller would receive some pressure and in fact lost the lead on lap thirteen to Rob Lindsey.  Lindsey, of Sherwood and in his Maxline Custom Cases/Summerfield Golf & Country Club/Triple X Race Co./Speedmart Inc. #23 XXX, would try and create some distance but Miller would remain hot on his heels.  Miller would take the position back on lap nineteen and stayed there the rest of the way.  It was Miller’s first career win with the newly created Wingless Sprint Series.
Rob Lindsey held onto second while the Todd’s Auto Body/Clark Printing/Hedge Carter Gutter Service/Herz Precision Parts #85 Maxim of Ricky Ashley, from Thurston, was third.  The balance of the top five was made up of Aloha’s Brad Rhodes in fourth, piloting his Pro Tow/Beaverton Automotive/Raybourn Performance #50 Eagle, and the Whit Log Trailers/Double R Powdercoating/Redmond Trucking #57X Rocket, driven by Dusty Redmond, in fifth.
Kyle Miller set quick time in time trials while Rob Lindsey was triumphant in the trophy dash.  Heat races were won by Miller, Lindsey, and Salem’s Tim Alberding in the Alberding Racing #52 Maxim.
The Wingless Sprint Series will next visit Madras Speedway on Saturday July 9th. It will be the second time this year that the WSS visit the central Oregon ¼-mile clay oval.  Be sure and keep up with the latest news and information regarding the Wingless Sprint Series by visiting


Wingless Sprint Series
Cottage Grove Speedway
Cottage Grove, OR
Saturday June 25, 2016

1. 6A – Kyle Miller
2. 23 – Rob Lindsay
3. 85 – Ricky Ashley
4. 50 – Brad Rhodes
5. 57X – Dusty Redmond
6. 21 – Mike Griffith
7. 4D – Cooper Desbiens
8. 24 – Theo McCarty
9. 8H – Lance Halmark
10. 8X – Otto Jorgenson
11. 2J – Jonathon Jorgenson
12. 38DD – Randy Dunlap
13. 15R – Jake Gilman
14. 57 – Lindsay Barney
15. 52 – Tim Alberding
16. 11X – Chris Betalgia
17. 54 – Johnny Butler