Darland Returns to the Phillips 71P for 2017

Dave Darland. (Bill Miller Photo)

LINCOLN, Ind. (December 7, 2016) — Dave Darland announced Wednesday he will return to drive the Steve and Carla Phillips owned #71P car on the USAC National Sprint Car Series for the 2017 season.

“As of now, we are still finalizing some deals and sponsors to get the #71p back on the road to chase that much deserved Sprint Car Championship for Steve & Carla,” said Darland in a press release.

Darland previously drove the Phillips car from 2013 to 2016 winning 17 USAC sprint car features. Last season the Phillips team fielded a USAC Silver Crown Series car instead of a full time sprint car effort. Darland drove for the Jeff Walker owned team last season.