Neuman Ends Kofoid’s Winning Streak With Port City Victory

Jake Neuman. (Danny Clum photo)

From POWRi

TULSA, Okla. (March 28, 2021) — The reigning 2020 Lucas Oil POWRi National Champion, Jake Neuman claimed the victory to close out the 8th Annual Turnpike Challenge at Port City Raceway. The New Berlin native also broke the four-race win streak of Michael “Buddy” Kofoid to end the night.

Neuman slated to start in the fourth position for the 30- lap main event found himself getting to the second position quickly. Joe B Miller took the top side early on and found the lead. After a caution on lap four in turn 3&4 for Brenham Crouch the field came back to green.

On the restart, Neuman threw a slide job and it stuck for him to take over the lead from Joe B Miller. The field behind him start battling for positions, Cannon McIntosh and Joe B are battling it out for the second position and make contact which caused Joe B to spin.

As the race heats up and the laps wound down, Jake Neuman still led but hard charging Buddy Kofoid and Emerson Axsom weren’t settling for anything besides first place. Neuman entered into lapped traffic which gave Axsom and Kofoid a chance to catch up.

Neuman prevailed and took his family owned 3N to victory lane for the first time on the 2021 season. Emerson Axsom finished second and Buddy Kofoid in third, Daison Pursley in fourth, and Cannon McIntosh rounded out the top five. The 8th Annual Turnpike Challenge has come to a close and the drivers will be back in action in two weeks in Arkansas.

POWRi National Midget League / POWRi West Midget Series
Turnpike Challenge
Port City Raceway
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Sunday March 28, 2021

Smith Titanium Heat Race #1 (8 Laps)
1. 86-Brent Crews[1]
2. 71K-Daison Pursley[3]
3. 8J-Jonathan Beason[5]
4. 7U-Kyle Jones[7]
5. 72-Sam Johnson[8]
6. 67K-Cade Lewis[6]
7. 21KS-Trey Gropp[4]
8. 10XX-Curtis Jones[2]

Saldana Race Products Heat Race #2 (8 Laps)
1. 49-Joe B Miller[5]
2. 15-Emerson Axsom[6]
3. 7M-Chance Morton[3]
4. 21-Emilio Hoover[8]
5. 20H-Noah Harris[4]
6. 8M-Kade Morton[1]
7. 15X-Blake Edwards[7]
8. 17-Tanner Berryhill[2]

Rod End Supply Heat Race #3 (8 Laps)
1. 19M-Ethan Mitchell[2]
2. 67-Michael Kofoid[4]
3. 08-Cannon McIntosh[7]
4. 91T-Tyler Thomas[6]
5. 32-Trey Marcham[5]
6. 17B-Austin Barnhill[1]
7. 10P-Dylan Postier[3]

Schure Built Suspension Heat Race #4 (8 Laps)
1. 85T-Ryan Timms[1]
2. 3N-Jake Neuman[6]
3. 01-Bryant Wiedeman[5]
4. 71-Kaylee Bryson[3]
5. 91-Kevin Bayer[4]
6. 27-Keith Rauch[7]
7. 05-Kyle Wilson[2]

Keizer Wheels Heat Race #5 (8 Laps)
1. 97-Brenham Crouch[3]
2. 27BJ-Jake Bubak[7]
3. 21K-Karter Sarff[5]
4. 44X-Wesley Smith[6]
5. 9E-Caden Englehart[2]
6. 25-Taylor Reimer[4]
DNS: 14E-Hank Davis

MVT B-Main (12 Laps)
1. 91T-Tyler Thomas[1]
2. 72-Sam Johnson[2]
3. 71-Kaylee Bryson[3]
4. 20H-Noah Harris[4]
5. 14E-Hank Davis[11]
6. 27-Keith Rauch[5]
7. 17B-Austin Barnhill[8]
8. 67K-Cade Lewis[6]
9. 15X-Blake Edwards[7]
10. 10XX-Curtis Jones[10]
DNS: 10P-Dylan Postier

Auto Meter B-Main 2 (12 Laps)
1. 44X-Wesley Smith[1]
2. 32-Trey Marcham[3]
3. 21KS-Trey Gropp[8]
4. 8M-Kade Morton[7]
5. 17-Tanner Berryhill[10]
6. 91-Kevin Bayer[4]
7. 25-Taylor Reimer[6]
8. 9E-Caden Englehart[5]
9. 7M-Chance Morton[2]
10. 05-Kyle Wilson[9]

Realty Connect A-Main (30 Laps)
1. 3N-Jake Neuman[4]
2. 15-Emerson Axsom[3]
3. 67-Michael Kofoid[8]
4. 71K-Daison Pursley[12]
5. 08-Cannon McIntosh[6]
6. 86-Brent Crews[9]
7. 21K-Karter Sarff[15]
8. 32-Trey Marcham[20]
9. 01-Bryant Wiedeman[14]
10. 91T-Tyler Thomas[17]
11. 8J-Jonathan Beason[13]
12. 72-Sam Johnson[19]
13. 44X-Wesley Smith[18]
14. 49-Joe B Miller[1]
15. 19M-Ethan Mitchell[7]
16. 97-Brenham Crouch[5]
17. 85T-Ryan Timms[10]
18. 71-Kaylee Bryson[21]
19. 27BJ-Jake Bubak[2]
20. 21KS-Trey Gropp[22]
21. 7U-Kyle Jones[16]
22. 21-Emilio Hoover[11]
23. 67K-Cade Lewis[23]
24. 7M-Chance Morton[24]