Courtney Wins Fifth Consecutive USAC Feature at Eldora

Tyler Courtney. (Mike Campbell photo)

By T.J. Buffenabrger

ROSSBURG, Ohio (May 8, 2021) — Tyler Courtney picked up his fifth consecutive USAC National Sprint Car Series feature victory at Eldora Speedway Saturday afternoon during the rain delayed portion of the #letsracetwo program. Courtney from Indianapolis, Indiana started on the pole position and was never challenged in route to the $10,000 victory driving the Clauson/Marshall/Newman racing owned car, lapping up to sixth place in the process.

“It’s pretty special. I never thought I’d win one race here, let along five in a row. This is incredible,” Courtney said in victory lane of his dominating win. We have something figure out with this place. Its just awesome coming back here. Thanks to Roger (Slack), Tony (Stewart), and everyone here at Eldora for putting up extra money for the USAC guys.”

Courtney took off at the green flag leaving Jadon Rogers and Robert Ballou racing for second position on the opening lap. Ballou took the position through turns three and four and tried keeping pace with Courtney.

Courtney had built u a 4.573 second lead by lap seven as he started to overtake slower cars. Ballou at one point cut that lead down to 3.603 seconds as Courtney navigated through the slower cars. Eventually Courtney found his way through the traffic and built his lead back up to 5.477 seconds at the finish.

Ballou held on for second with Rogers rounding out the podium.

Afterwards Courtney called the dominating performance a team effort including the work put into to qualifying before Friday’s portion was postponed to Saturday afternoon.

“It’s a combination of everything,” said Courtney. “We had great track position because we qualified really good. We caught it perfect last night to catch the invert and put us on the front row. It makes the night a lot smoother when you can start up front. We also had a really good car at the same time.”

USAC Amsoil National Sprint Car Series
Eldora Speedway
Rossburg, Ohio
Saturday May 8, 2021

Qualifying (Held May 7, 2021):
1. Brady Bacon, 69, Dynamics-15.006 2. Logan Seavey, 5, Baldwin/Fox/Curb-Agajanian-15.029 3. Robert Ballou, 12, Ballou-15.240 4. Justin Grant, 4, TOPP-15.330 5. Jadon Rogers, 61m, Edwards-15.420 6. Tyler Courtney, 7BC, Clauson/Marshall/Newman-15.481 7. Chris Windom, 19, Hayward-15.497 8. C.J. Leary, 77m, Michael-15.544 9. Matt Westfall, 33m, Marshall-15.650 10. Kevin Thomas Jr., 9K, KT-15.660 11. Chase Stockon, 5s, KO-15.667 12. Paul Nienhiser, 5N, KO-15.711 13. Brandon Mattox, 28, Mattox-15.761 14. Jake Swanson, 21AZ, Team AZ-15.766 15. Stevie Sussex, 77, Wingo-15.947 16. Isaac Chapple, 52, Chapple-15.955 17. Tanner Thorson, 19AZ, Reinbold/Underwood-16.004 18. Max Adams, 17G, On The Gass-16.072 19. Steven Drevicki, 19s, DeGre-16.158 20. Carmen Perigo, 21, Stehman-16.167 21. Matt Goodnight, 39, Goodnight-16.197 22. Evan Mosley, 27, Mosley-16.365 23. Korbyn Hayslett, 1H, Hayslett-16.380 24. Paul Dues, 87, Dues-16.475 25. Dallas Hewitt, 18, Keen-16.511 26. Ryan Barr, 21B, Barr-16.609 27. Ryan Thomas, 77FR, Wingo-16.955
28. Jack James, 99, James-17.034.

Heat Race #1 (8 Laps):
1. 9K-Kevin Thomas Jr.
2. 4-Justin Grant
3. 69-Brady Bacon
4. 19-Chris Windom
5. 19S-Steven Drevicki
6. 52-Issac Chapple
7. 28-Brandon Battox
8. 27-Evan Mosley
9. 18-Dallas Hewitt
10. 99-Jack James
(First five finishers transferred to the A-Main)

Heat Race #2 (8 Laps):
1. 77M-C.J. Leary
2. 21AZ-Jake Swanson
3. 5S-Chase Stockon
4. 61M-Jadon Rogers
5. 5-Logan Seavey
6. 19AZ-Tanner Thorson
7. 21-Carmen Perigo
8. 1H-Korbyn Hayslett
9. 21B-Ryan Barr
(First five finishers transferred to the A-Main)

Heat Race #3 (8 Laps):
1. 12-Robert Ballou
2. 5N-Paul Nienhiser
3. 7BC-Tyler Courtney
4. 33M-Matt Westfall
5. 77-Stevie Sussex
6. 77FR-Ryan Thomas
7. 39-Matt Goodnight
8. 87-Paul Dues
9. 17G-Max Adams
(First five finishers transferred to the A-Main)

B-Main (12 Laps):
1. 52-Issac Chapple
2. 28-Bandon Mattox
3. 1H-Korbyn Hayslett
4. 18-Dallas Hewitt
5. 21-Carmen Perigo
6. 19AZ-Tanner Thorson
7. 21B-Ryan Barr
8. 87-Paul Dues
9. 27-Evan Mosley
10. 39-Matt Goodnight
11. 99-Jack James
12. 17G-Max Adams
13. 77FR-Ryan Thomas
(First seven finishers transferred to the A-Main)

A-Main (30 Laps):
A-Main (30 Laps)
1. 7BC-Tyler Courtney
2. 12-Robert Ballou
3. 61M-Jadon Rogers
4. 4-Justin Grant
5. 19-Chris Windom
6. 69-Brady Bacon
7. 9K-Kevin Thomas Jr.
8. 5S-Chase Stockon
9. 33M-Matt Westfall
10. 5-Logan Seavey
11. 77M-C.J. Leary
12. 52-Issac Chapple
13. 21AZ-Jake Swanson
14. 5N-Paul Nienhiser
15. 18-Dallas Hewitt
16. 19S-Steven Drevicki
17. 28-Brandon Mattox
18. 19AZ-Tanner Thorson
19. 77-Stevie Sussex
20. 21-Carmen Perigo
21. 1H-Korbyn Hayslett
22. 21B-Ryan Barr