Jake Neuman Charges from 23rd to Win at Angell Park

top story bmara badger midget auto racing association

By Quinn McCabe
June 13, 2022- Sun Prairie, WI– On a picture-perfect Sunday night, at Angell Park Speedway, the Advanced Fastening Supply Badger Midget Series and the IRA Bumper to Bumper sprint cars joined together to honor the first midget winner at Angell Park and the first IRA champion Norm Nelson. In the end, it was Jake Neuman charging from 23rd to pass leader Matt Rechek on the last lap to win the midget feature event.

In Schoenfeld Headers qualifying, it was the lightning-fast #51 machine of Zach Boden laying down the best lap of the evening, his 4th quick time honors already this season. Jake Goeglein scored his first Madison Extinguisher Service Non-Qualifiers race win, Adam Taylor scored the win in Auto Meter Heat Race #1, and Todd Kluever continued his winning ways by capturing Simpson Race Products Heat Race #2.

Jordan Nelson and Aaron Muhle led the field to green, however, action was halted before the completion of lap one as Brandon Waelti and Jeremy Douglas tumbled in turns three and four. Both drivers were able to climb from their battered machines unassisted. Unable to re-fire Nelson was forced to the pits, which moved Daltyn England to the front row with Muhle. Muhle took the early advantage and was joined by fellow Beaver Dam native Matt Rechek. Rechek wasted little time working around Muhle for the lead, when a hole opened up and Kyle Stark punched his #2 machine into second. He then set his sights on Rechek. As the two distanced themselves from the pack, Jake Neuman was climbing his way from his 23rd starting position. Neuman creeped into the top 10 just seven laps into the race. A couple of well timed cautions allowed Neuman to take advantage and get to the third position before the final restart. With just a handful of laps remaining, Rechek was able to fire off clean and put a couple of car lengths between himself and the field. Stark and Neuman battled for second, but with two laps to go the trio encountered heavy lapped traffic. Neuman was able to pin Stark behind a lapped car, giving him a clean lane to charge after Rechek. After a couple of failed sliders, the fate of the Neuman 57a machine looked sealed. However, on the white flag lap Neuman was able to create a big run to pull alongside Rechek down the backstretch and force him to check up for a lapped car. The move vaulted Neuman to his second win of the season. At the finish, Recheck dropped to third as Stark slipped by relegating him to a second-place finish.

The Advanced Racing Suspensions Hard Charger Award went to Jake Nueman. The Howard Law Cash Draw Award winner on the evening was Kevin Douglas, the CarTopia Tough Luck Award went to Denny Smith, and the Oliver Motors Last Place Award went to Jeremy Douglas.

Next weekend the Advanced Fastening Supply Badger Midgets will roll north for their second double header of the season. Friday the series heads to Gravity Park in Chilton, WI, and on Saturday will return to Tomahawk Speedway. Chase McDermand and Kurt Mayhew split the weekend just a year ago.

Stay tuned to BMARA.com and the BMARA Racing Facebook page for additional announcements and information regarding events for the 2022 season.
Badger Midgets 26 Entries

Badger Midget Auto Racing Association
Angell Park Speedway
Sun Prairie, Wisconsin
Sunday, June 11, 2022

Schoenfeld Headers Qualifying (100 Laps)
1. 51-Zach Boden, 14.613[11]
2. 3B-Brandon Waelti, 14.685[7]
3. 55-Todd Kluever, 15.111[21]
4. 5X-Adam Taylor, 15.285[20]
5. 15C-RJ Corson, 15.624[8]
6. 2-Kyle Stark, 15.642[13]
7. 87-Jake Dohner, 15.709[16]
8. 38-Matt Rechek, 15.740[12]
9. 9K-Bryon Walters, 15.755[23]
10. 6-Jeremy Douglas, 15.798[5]
11. 9S-Mike Stroik, 15.839[15]
12. 77-Jack Vanderboom, 15.868[6]
13. 5K-Kevin Douglas, 15.879[3]
14. 19E-Daltyn England, 15.951[10]
15. 24M-Aaron Muhle, 15.971[9]
16. 40JR-Dave Collins Jr, 16.024[14]
17. 98-Jordan Nelson, 16.230[19]
18. 21K-Kurt Mayhew, 16.709[22]
19. 10-Denny Smith, 16.721[24]
20. 8-Jake Goeglein, 16.785[26]
21. 59-Kyle Koch, 16.854[4]
22. 56-Charles Rufi, 17.153[25]
23. 4-Pat Hensen, 17.433[17]
24. 29-Harrison Kleven, 17.578[18]
25. 45KW-Trey Weishoff, 17.578[2]
26. 57A-Jake Neuman, [1]

Auto Meter Heat Race #2 (8 Laps)
1. 55-Todd Kluever[8]
2. 24M-Aaron Muhle[2]
3. 51-Zach Boden[9]
4. 98-Jordan Nelson[1]
5. 9S-Mike Stroik[4]
6. 5K-Kevin Douglas[3]
7. 9K-Bryon Walters[5]
8. 87-Jake Dohner[6]
9. 15C-RJ Corson[7]

Simpson Race Products Heat Race #1 (8 Laps)
1. 5X-Adam Taylor[8]
2. 3B-Brandon Waelti[9]
3. 19E-Daltyn England[3]
4. 38-Matt Rechek[6]
5. 2-Kyle Stark[7]
6. 77-Jack Vanderboom[4]
7. 21K-Kurt Mayhew[1]
8. 6-Jeremy Douglas[5]
9. 40JR-Dave Collins Jr[2]

Madison Extinguisher Service Non Qualifier #(8 Laps)
1. 8-Jake Goeglein[5]
2. 10-Denny Smith[6]
3. 59-Kyle Koch[4]
4. 29-Harrison Kleven[1]
5. 45KW-Trey Weishoff[8]
6. 4-Pat Hensen[2]
7. 56-Charles Rufi[3]
DNS: 57A-Jake Neuman

Advance Fastening Supply A-Main (25 Laps)
1. 57A-Jake Neuman[23]
2. 2-Kyle Stark[6]
3. 38-Matt Rechek[5]
4. 51-Zach Boden[10]
5. 55-Todd Kluever[8]
6. 19E-Daltyn England[3]
7. 9K-Bryon Walters[12]
8. 21K-Kurt Mayhew[13]
9. 15C-RJ Corson[15]
10. 8-Jake Goeglein[17]
11. 59-Kyle Koch[18]
12. 40JR-Dave Collins Jr[16]
13. 5K-Kevin Douglas[11]
14. 45KW-Trey Weishoff[21]
15. 4-Pat Hensen[20]
16. 24M-Aaron Muhle[2]
17. 77-Jack Vanderboom[22]
18. 29-Harrison Kleven[19]
19. 9S-Mike Stroik[4]
20. 98-Jordan Nelson[1]
21. 5X-Adam Taylor[7]
22. 3B-Brandon Waelti[9]
23. 6-Jeremy Douglas[14]