Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket begins Friday at Attica Raceway Park

2022 All Star Circuit of Champions Top Story Logo

By Tyler Altmeyer
BROWNSBURG, Ind. (June 7, 2023) – 2022 All Star Circuit of Champions Top Story Logo

The newest edition will take the Tezos All Star Circuit of Champions presented by Mobil 1 to eight events across a nine-day span, all of which culminating with the 6th Annual Dean Knittel Memorial at Portsmouth Raceway Park. The eight-race campaign will witness Ohio’s finest and the All Stars compete for a total winner’s share equaling $78,554, $22,554 of it during the aforementioned Dean Knittel Memorial on Saturday, June 17.

In addition, a $12,000 Ohio Sprint Speedweek points fund will be spread among the top-five in the final Speedweek standings; $5,000 awarded to the champion and $2,500, $2,000, $1,500, and $1,000 awarded to second through fifth, respectively.

On behalf of Tony Stewart Store, a victory bonus will also be up for grabs during Ohio Sprint Speedweek: if a driver wins three or more events, an extra $1,000 will be awarded per win.

After the Speedweek opener at Attica, action will resume with a $10,000-to-win program at Fremont Speedway in Fremont, Ohio, on Saturday, June 10, followed by a doubleheader at Wayne County Speedway in Orrville, Ohio, on Sunday and Monday, June 11-12. Wayne County’s opener will award a $6,000 payday, followed by a $10,000-to-win finale on Monday evening.

Traveling further east, weekday Speedweek competition will continue on Tuesday, June 13, with a one-night, $6,000-to-win stop at the always-exciting Sharon Speedway in Hartford, Ohio. Sharon’s program will conclude the first segment of the 2023 edition of Ohio Sprint Speedweek, as an off day will follow on Wednesday, June 14. Should an event be affected by Mother Nature prior to the off day, Wednesday will be utilized as the respective rain date.

The second half of Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket will commence with a takeover of southern Ohio, invading the highbanks of Atomic Speedway in Chillicothe, Ohio, on Thursday, June 15. The $6,000-to-win showstopper will be flanked by a $12,000-to-win visit to the World’s Greatest Dirt Track, Eldora Speedway in Rossburg, Ohio, on Friday, June 16.

As mentioned, 2023 Ohio Sprint Speedweek presented by Cometic Gasket will conclude with the Dean Knittel Memorial at Portsmouth Raceway Park on Saturday, June 17. A sought-after prize on the All Star campaign trail, the Dean Knittel Memorial features the second-highest payday on the All Stars’ entire June slate, following only the $26,000-to-win Rayce Rudeen Foundation Race that was contested at Plymouth Dirt Track on Saturday, June 3.

The “Myerstown Missile” Brent Marks is the reigning Dean Knittel Memorial champion, beating fellow Pennsylvania native, Danny Dietrich, to the final checkers, followed by Buch Motorsports’ Justin Peck.

Peck, a former full-time competitor with “America’s Series,” was the 2022 Ohio Sprint Speedweek champion, earning two victories along the way, the first at Wayne County Speedway and the second at Atomic Speedway. The Speedweek title was a first-ever for the Monrovia, Indiana, native, adding his name to an impressive list of former champions that includes six-time Ohio Sprint Speedweek titleholder, Dale Blaney.

The All Star Circuit of Champions will enter Ohio Sprint Speedweek fresh off of a two-day contest with the IRA Outlaw Sprint Series in the Badger State, visiting Dodge County Fairgrounds and Plymouth Dirt Track on Friday and Saturday, June 2-3. Visalia, California’s Cory Eliason opened the weekend with a triumph at Dodge County, followed by a perfect display by Rico Abreu at Plymouth Dirt Track. Abreu, who secured the $26,000 Rayce Rudeen Foundation Race title in his Plymouth takeover, led all 35 circuits, becoming the fifth different winner of the prestigious event.

For those who can not witness the All Star Circuit of Champions live and in person, FloRacing.com, the official media partner and broadcast provider of the All Stars, has you covered. To access live and on-demand racing action from the All Star Circuit of Champions, visit FloRacing.com and become an annual PRO subscriber. Race fans can see all the USAC and dirt late-model action they want in addition to Eldora Speedway’s slate of races and those of the All Star Circuit of Champions. The subscription unlocks access to premium content across the entire FloSports network. Watch the events across all screens by downloading the FloSports app on iOS, Android, Apple TV, Roku, Amazon Fire and Chromecast. Find subscription here: https://flosports.link/3XJOg5Z

Attica Raceway Park – Attica, OH
Ohio Sprint Speedweek Night 1

Fremont Speedway – Fremont, OH
Ohio Sprint Speedweek night 2

Wayne County Speedway – Orrville, OH
Ohio Sprint Speedweek Night 3

Wayne County Speedway – Orrville, OH
Ohio Sprint Speedweek Night 4

Sharon Speedway – Hartford, OH
Ohio Sprint Speedweek Night 5

Atomic Speedway – Chillicothe, OH
Ohio Sprint Speedweek Night 6

Eldora Speedway – Rossburg, OH
Ohio Sprint Speedweek Night 7

Portsmouth Raceway Park – Portsmouth, OH
6th Annual Dean Knittel Memorial

2023 All Star Circuit of Champions DRIVER Standings (As of 6/3):
Tyler Courtney – 1718
Chris Windom – 1618
Hunter Schuerenberg – 1592
Tim Shaffer – 1576
Zeb Wise – 1570
J.J. Hickle – 1510
Scotty Thiel – 1500
Conner Morrell – 1384
Parker Price-Miller – 1202
Sye Lynch – 1194

About Tezos:
Tezos is smart money, redefining what it means to hold and exchange value in a digitally connected world. A self-upgradable and energy-efficient Proof of Stake blockchain with a proven track record, Tezos seamlessly adopts tomorrow’s innovations without network disruptions today. For more information, please visit www.tezos.com.

About Mobil 1:
The world’s leading synthetic motor oil brand, Mobil 1™ features anti-wear technology that provides performance beyond our conventional motor oils. This technology allows Mobil 1 to meet or exceed the toughest standards of car builders and to provide exceptional protection against engine wear, under normal or even some of the most extreme conditions. Mobil 1 flows quickly in extreme temperatures to protect critical engine parts and is designed to maximize engine performance and help extend engine life. For more information, visit mobiloil.com, on Twitter @Mobil1 and, on Facebook, www.facebook.com/mobil1. Mobil, Mobil 1 and Mobil 1 Racing are registered trademarks of Exxon Mobil Corporation or one of its subsidiaries.

About FloSports:
Founded in 2006, FloSports is a subscription video streaming service dedicated to sports, offering live and on-demand access to hundreds of thousands of competition events across 25+ vertical sport categories in the US and abroad. FloSports’ vision is to give underserved sports the love they deserve. With a growing library of more than 300,000 hours of premium content including news, expert commentary, films, documentaries and more, FloSports has established itself as an innovator and leader in sports streaming. Finally, your sport has a home. For more information, please visit: flosports.tv.

About the All Star Circuit of Champions:
All Star Enterprises, LLC, wholly owned by Tony Stewart, d/b/a the All Star Circuit of Champions, is a winged sprint car series. The All Star Circuit of Champions Sprint Car Series is one of the oldest traveling 410 sprint car organizations and is a staple of grassroots, open-wheel racing. Formed in 1970 by Bud Miller, the series has largely been considered the first ‘outlaw’ Sprint Car organization of the modern era. Motorsports entrepreneur Tony Stewart agreed to terms with Guy Webb to become the sole owner of the original winged sprint car tour in January of 2015.

# # #