NCRA Sprint Season Kicks Off Saturday in Wichita

By David Smith Jr.

Park City, Kansas – April 6, 2010 – The O’Reilly/NCRA sprint car division kicks off their 21st consecutive season this coming Saturday night as the tour makes a stop at 81 Speedway in Park City, Kansas for their first of four appearances on the season.

Five time and defending series champion Garry Lee Maier of Cimarron, Kansas will once again be back to defend last years championship and will once again drive the famed Ochs Brothers #1x. Maier is the current all-time feature win leader in the sprint car division with 63 total wins.

Drivers that are expected to have their say so in the 2010 series championship includes Kansas drivers Mike Peters, J.D. Johnson, Jon Freeman, brothers Patrick and Jeff Stasa, A.J. Selenke, Luke Cranston, Steve Richardson and Jason Schroeder. Broken Arrow, Oklahoma veteran sprint car driver Aaron Berryhill has informed his intentions on competing full time with the series. Aaron has eight feature wins to his credit in the series former outlaw division and will look to add his first under the 360 sprint cars.

A strong contingent of local track veterans are also expected including Corey Moore, Marc Robe and Allan Unruh.

Trevor Grossenbacher of Holland, Nebraska has made known his intentions on competing full time with the series and compete for the Brodix rookie of the year honors.

Close to thirty drivers from at least three states are expected for the $2000 to win. $300 to start Hard Rock Hotel-Casino twenty car feature finale.

Pit gates will open at 5:00 PM with heat races for the sprint car series opener set for 7:00 PM. General admission is $9.00 for ages 11 and up while children ages 6-10 are $5.

81 Speedway is located North of Wichita on I-135 to exit 16, then 0.7 miles west on 77th. For more track information, check out their website or call the track (316) 755-1781.

The 2010 race season is the 40th Anniversary season for the O’Reilly Auto Parts National Championship Racing Association and sanctions five divisions, including late models, sprint cars, modified north, modified south and southern modifieds throughout the Great Plains region in the following states: Nebraska, Iowa, Kansas, Missouri, Oklahoma and Texas. To find out more on the series, check out their website For other inquiries on the series and any one of their five divisions, contact the office (316) 755-1781.

Officials with the O’Reilly/NCRA would like to welcome the following for their partnership with the sprint car division for the 2010 race season:

OFFICIAL SPONSORS: O’Reilly Auto Parts, Hoosier Racing Tire, Sunoco Race Fuels, Hard Rock Hotel-Casino

CONTINGENCY SPONSORS: Arizona Race Shirts, Airflow Racing Products, Brodix Cylinder Heads, Hooker Harness, Kiezer Racing Wheels, Pro Shocks, Racing Optics, Rod End Supply, Saldana Race Products, Schoenfeld Headers, Super Shox, Taylor Cable Products, The Joie of Seating, Ultra Shield, Vertex Magnetos and Winters Performance Products.