Fred Rahmer
Fred Rahmer

From Lincoln Speedway, image courtesy of Rick Rarer / SprintCarRacingnews.com

ABBOTTSTOWN, PA , 4/17/2010 -Six races, six faces in victory lane so far this year at Lincoln Speedway.

And the sixth face is very familiar to sprint car fans in Central Pennsylvania.

Ten-time track champ Fred Rahmer came from sixth starting spot to claim his first Lincoln win of the year in the 25-lap “410” sprint car feature Saturday night.

For most of the race, it looked like Randy Baughman would claim his first feature win. Baughman started on the pole and led the first 19 laps. But on lap 20, sixth-starting Rahmer dove under Baughman for the race lead in turns three and four. The only caution flag of the event, however, came out for previous race winner Danny Dietrich, who came to a stop on the front stretch. That put Baughman back into the lead for the restart.

But Lincoln’s all-time winner make quick work of the Clay’s Service Center #3B on the restart, driving under Baughman for the top spot in turns one and two. From there, Fast Freddie drove away from the rest of the field, with Baughman holding on for second and third-starting Doug Dodson crossing third. Brent Marks and Doug Esh completed the top five.

“I was a little tight early, but we’ve been changing the car trying to get better,” said Rahmer in victory lane, “But the tires are so hard to try to get traction at all…you just gotta do what you gotta do.”

“Randy and Doug checked out early,” continued Rahmer, “Me and Alan Krimes were back there runnin’ and I’m like ‘We’re wasting our energy,’ and all of a sudden the car just come to me.”

Sixth through tenth were Aaron Ott, invader Tim Shaffer, Alan Krimes, Brad McClelland, and Daryn Pittman.

Heats for the 28 “410” Sprinters were won by Rahmer, Kyle Moody, and Marks, with Johnny Mackison Jr. winning the consolation.

Rain drops began to fall in victory lane, forcing Lincoln promoters to postpone the 358 sprint car and thundercar features.

The 358 sprint car feature will be made up as part of a triple-header program on Saturday, May 8th.

The thundercar feature will be made up as part of a triple-header program on Saturday, May 15th.

Heats for the 32 “358” Sprints were won by Adrian Shaffer, Jeff Rohrbaugh, Troy Becker, and Scott Geesey, with Brie Hershey winning the consolation.

Heats for the 14 Thundercars were won by Jamie Zentmyer and Danny Beard.

Next Saturday night, May 1st, at 7 PM, the All-Star Circuit of Champions invade the Pigeon Hills to take on the Lawrence Chevrolet 410 Sprinters. The Central PA Legends will round out the evening’s racing action with time trials getting underway at 7 PM. Gates will open at 5 PM and hot laps get underway around 6:30 PM.

To get all the latest news, results, schedule changes and rule changes, visit Lincoln Speedway’s website at http://www.lincolnspeedway.com to stay up-to-date on all the action or pending weather conditions at Central Pennsylvania’s “Premier” Saturday night race track – The Fabulous Lincoln Speedway.

Saturday, April 24, 2010
Abbottstown, PA
Feature (25 Laps) – 1. 51-Fred Rahmer ($3,000); 2. 3B-Randy Baughman; 3. 14-Doug Dodson; 4. 19M-Brent Marks; 5. 39-Doug Esh; 6. 25-Aaron Ott; 7. 83-Tim Shaffer; 8. 87-Alan Krimes; 9. 6-Brad McClelland; 10. 17-Daryn Pittman; 11. 15-Adam Wilt; 12. 21-Brian Montieth; 13. 16-Gerard McIntyre, Jr.; 14. 7M-Mark Smith; 15. 3W-Kyle Moody; 16. 71-Brian Leppo; 17. 59-Jimmy Siegel; 18. 65-Johnny Mackison Jr.; 19. 11C-Cory Haas; 20. 49-Bobby Howard; 21. 20S-Derek Sell; 22. 4R-John Rudisill; 23. 48-Danny Dietrich (DNF); 24. 26-Pat Cooper (DNF). No Time

Lap Leaders – Randy Baughman (1-19), Fred Rahmer (20-25)

1st Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 51-Fred Rahmer; 3. 3B-Randy Baughman; 3. 14-Doug Dodson; 4. 25-Aaron Ott; 5. 59-Jimmy Siegel; 6. 48-Danny Dietrich; 7. 65-Johnny Mackison Jr.; 8. 20S-Derek Sell; 9. 39T-Tim Glatfelter; 10. 70-Sam Schlosberg (DNF). No Time

2nd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 3B-Kyle Moody; 2. 16-Gerard McIntyre Jr.; 3. 39-Doug Esh; 4. 87-Alan Krimes; 5. 6-Brad McClelland; 6. 17-Daryn Pittman; 7. 7M-Mark Smith; 8. 22-Bryn Gohn; 9. 49-Bobby Howard. Time – 2:28.97

3rd Heat (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 19M-Brent Marks; 2. 71-Brian Leppo; 3. 83-Tim Shaffer; 4. 11C-Cory Haas; 5. 21-Brian Montieth; 6. 4-John Rudisill; 7. 15-Adam Wilt; 8. 26-Pat Cooper; 9. 6W-Josh Wells (DNF). Time – 2:29.55

Consolation (10 Laps/6 to qualify) – 1. 65-Johnny Mackison Jr.; 2. 7M-Mark Smith; 3. 15-Adam wilt; 4. 20S-Derek Sell; 5. 26-Pat Cooper; 6. 49-Bobby Howard; 7. 39T-Tim Glatfelter; 8. 70-Sam Schlosberg; 9. 22-Bryn Gohn; DNS – 6W-Josh Wells. No Time

Feature (20-Laps) – Make-up on May 8th

1st Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 91-Adrian Shaffer; 2. 21-Scott Fisher; 3. 11T-Eric Tomecek; 4. 94-Ted Thomas; 5. 23B-Todd Rittenhouse Jr.; 6. 97-Brie Hershey; 7. 35-Steve Owings; 8. 8-Billy Dietrich (DNF). No Time

2nd Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 7V-Jeff Rohrbaugh; 2. 5T-Glenndon Forsythe; 3. 5-Ricky Stonebraker; 4. 0-Steve Storrie; 5. 12-Mike Bittinger; 6. 67-Jason Cherry (DNF); 7. Jason Cherry (DNF); 8. 1S-Logan Schuchart (DNF). Time – 2:28.34

3rd Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 98-Troy Becker; 2. 75-Nicole Bower; 3. 28-Keith Prutzman; 4. 1-Tim Wagaman; 5. 66H-Doug Hammaker; 6. 8R-Michael Ruttkamp; 7. 08-Jason Clauss; 8. 6-Bill Sherman. Time – 2:31.25

4th Heat (10 Laps/5 to qualify) – 1. 18-Scott Geesey; 2. B52-Brook Weibley; 3. 66-Dale Hammaker; 4. 27-Jay Galloway; 5. 59T-Tim Stallings; 6. 99F-Derek Frohlich; 7. 33-Billy Heltzel, III; 8. 7C-Chad Trout (DNF). No Time

Consolation (10 Laps/4 to qualify)- 1. 97-Brie Hershey; 2. 35-Steve Owings; 3. 08-Jason Clauss; 4. 7C-Chad Trout; 5. 15B-John Barnett; 6. 67-Jason Cherry; 7. 33-Billy Heltzel, III; 8. 8R-Michael Ruttkamp (DNF); 9. 99F-Derek Frohlich (DNF); 10. 6-Bill Sherman (DNF); DNS – 1S-Logan Schuchart, 8-Billy Dietrich. No Time

Feature (20 Laps) – Make-up on May 15th

1st Heat (8 Laps) – 1. 81J-Jamie Zentmyer; 2. 2W-Brian Walls; 3. 3W-Duane Watson; 4. 61-Mike Slaybaugh; 5. 121-Larry Neiderer; 6. 93-Mikey Guise; 7. 33J-Jeff Wilson (DNS). Time – 2:39.59

2nd Heat (8 Laps) – 1. 60-Danny Beard; 2. 21W-Will Walls; 3. 54-Kyle Martin; 4. 77-Justin Mong; 5. 54J-Jimmy Combs; 6. 57-Brad Shank; 7. 33-Gino Comi (DNF). Time – 2:38.35