USAC National Sprint Car Series logo 2012 united states auto club

Newton, Iowa…….Bryan Clauson of Noblesville, Ind. continued his winning ways in USAC-sanctioned racing Saturday at Iowa Speedway, leading the final five laps to win the Casey’s General Stores USAC Triple Crown Pride of Iowa USAC AMSOIL National Sprint Car 50-lapper at the 7/8-mile paved oval. Clauson caught Bobby Santos on lap 46 and led to the checkered flag in his Rotondo Weirich/Benic Enterprises Maxim/Gaerte Chevy. Santos, who had won the preceding 30-lap USAC Midget race, led 12 laps but finished second, ahead of Jerry Coons Jr., Tracy Hines and Levi Jones. Series point leader Damion Gardner finished seventh. Shane Hmiel, who broke the World’s Sprint Car qualifying record with a qualifying lap of 146.444 mph to win the pole, led 33 laps but lost an engine in the closing laps of the race.

AMSOIL USAC NATIONAL SPRINT CAR RACE RESULTS: May 22, 2010 – Newton, Iowa – Iowa Speedway – Casey’s General Stores USAC Triple Crown “Pride of Iowa”

QUALIFICATIONS: 1. Shane Hmiel, 17s, RWB-21.510; 2. Henry Clarke, 67, Kunz-21.537; 3. Bryan Clauson, 2B, RWB-21.642; 4. Levi Jones, 20, Stewart-21.857; 5. Bobby Santos III, 98, Santos-21.871; 6. Tracy Hines, 2v, Vance-21.921; 7. Chris Windom, 11, Walker-21.988; 8. Jerry Coons Jr., 69, Dynamics-22.031; 9. Jacob Wilson, 07, WBR/Team 6R-22.051; 10. Tanner Swanson, 17, TK-22.069; 11. Kody Swanson, 75, TK-22.082; 12. A.J. Fike, 3, RFMS-22.107; 13. Damion Gardner, 71, DG-22.200; 14. Bobby East, 5, Klatt-22.531; 15. JoJo Helberg, 7, Helberg-22.918; 16. Ricky Williams, 11w, Williams-23.112; 17. Scott Pierovich, 14x, Pierson-23.116; 18. Coleman Gulick, 14, Gulick-NT.

FEATURE: (50 laps) 1. Bryan Clauson, 2. Bobby Santos III, 3. Jerry Coons Jr., 4. Tracy Hines, 5. Levi Jones, 6. Jacob Wilson, 7. Damion Gardner, 8. Bobby East, 9. Kody Swanson, 10. A.J. Fike, 11. Chris Windom, 12. JoJo Helberg, 13. Henry Clarke, 14. Ricky Williams, 15. Shane Hmiel, 16. Tanner Swanson, 17. Coleman Gulick, 18. Scott Pierovich. NT

FEATURE LAP LEADERS: Laps 1-20 Hmiel, Laps 21-30 Santos, Laps 31-43 Hmiel, Laps 44-45 Santos, Laps 46-50 Clauson.

NEW AMSOIL NATIONAL SPRINT POINTS: 1-Gardner-556; 2-Jones-522; 3-Coons-521; 4-Clauson-493; 5-Hines-485; 6-Windom-451; 7-Robert Ballou-442; 8-Clarke-416; 9-Dave Darland-306; 10-Jon Stanbrough-284.

NEXT AMSOIL NATIONAL SPRINT RACE: May 27 – Terre Haute (IN) Action Track – 40th First Financial Bank “Tony Hulman Classic” presented by Budweiser and 500 Express