By Dick Jordan

The USAC Silver Crown Championship Series is gearing up for its most exciting week of the 2010 racing season. The series will compete on back-to-back nights in Indiana July 21-22, marking only the third time in series history that back-to-back races have been held on successive nights.

The “Sumar Classic” is scheduled July 21 at the Terre Haute Action Track and the “J.D. Byrider 100” is slated July 22 at O’Reilly Raceway Park in Indianapolis. The former has been finalized as a result of a change of race organizers at the storied half-mile dirt oval.

Action Promotions, LLC has announced that the remaining events on the 2010 Action Track schedule will be promoted by the O’Connor Family, race organizers at Kokomo (Ind.) Speedway and Track Enterprises (race organizers at the storied Indiana and Illinois fairgrounds mile dirt ovals).. This move became necessary following the resignation of Chris Novotney from Action Promotions following the May 27th First Financial Tony Hulman Classic.

“I appreciate the willingness of Bob Sargent and the O’Connor Family to literally come to the rescue and save these events,” said Mike King of Action Promotions, LLC. “Our entire group of sponsors will remain in place and season passes will be honored for the July 14 and September 11 events as well.”

“After accepting the decision by Mr. Novotney to step down as a member of Action Promotions and his position as director of track preparation, Brian (Dorsett), Davey (Hamilton) and I began talks with USAC to find the right partners to properly present these final events on the 2010 schedule,” said King. “Reece O’Conner and Bob Sargent both have great reputations and the knowledge that it takes to present these events and many more. We are putting the track in great hands and look forward to assisting them in any way necessary.”

O’Reilly Raceway Park was involved in the only other two instances of back-to-back Silver Crown events, in 2003 and 2008. In 2003 J.J. Yeley swept both races, at ORP and the Indiana State Fairgrounds. In 2008 Dave Darland won at Terre Haute and Bobby East was the winner at ORP.

Only 5 drivers have won back-to-back Silver Crown races on pavement and dirt: Tom Bigelow did it in 1975, Rick Hood in 1985, Jeff Gordon in 1991, J.J. Yeley in 1998 and 2003 and Tyler Walker in 2004.

All three race winners so far this year are brand-new Silver Crown winners, Levi Jones, A.J. Fike and Shane Hmiel.