Steve Irwin is on a hot streak

By Jim Fisher
For the second-straight event with the Lane Automotive MTS Sprint Series, the defending champion led every lap
on the way to victory. Irwin led all 25 laps on Saturday at Butler (Mi.) Speedway in the second half of the
third-annual Ohio vs. Michigan Challenge. He also led every lap of the feature at Thunderbird (Mi.) Raceway.
Other feature winners on Saturday at Butler Speedway were Mike Tarlton (UMP Modifieds) and Glenn Heath (Street
Justin Martin started on the pole for Butler’s only sprint car race of 2010 without wings. Irwin sat outside
of the front row and quickly assumed the lead. Martin held second until sliding high in turn 2, giving the
spot to former Butler champ Chuck Wilson, who spent the rest of the race trailing Irwin.
Wilson did manage to pull alongside Irwin on a couple of occasions, but never was able to find a way around.
Mike Galajda, the 2008 MTS champ, was third at the checker, with Mark Irwin fourth and Mike Jonas fifth. The
rest of the top 10 were Keith Love, Ernie Kuehnemann, Jr., Tim Evilsizer, Chad Wilson, and Mike Burkin. Heat
races were won by Irwin, Martin, and Jonas.

Butler Speedway Results — July 17, 2010
MTS Sprint Cars
Feature: 1. 0 Steve Irwin, 2. 31 Chuck Wilson, 3. 2 Mike Galajda, 4. 18 Mark Irwin, 5. 19 Mike Jonas, 6. 77
Keith Love, 7. 66 Ernie Kuehnemann, Jr., 8. 9 Tim Evilsizer, 9. 14 Chad Wilson, 10. 12b Mike Baker, 11. 82
Mike Miller, 12. 26 John Watson, 13. 58 Tony Bures, 14. 5k Randy Krepel, 15. 7 Justin Martin, 16. 137 Jerry
Evilsizer, 17. 58w Jacob Caines, 18. 41 Steve Ott
Heat Winners: Steve Irwin, Justin Martin, Mike Jonas