Gregg Dalman Takes Butler Win

From Jim Fisher

Gregg Dalman passed former track champ Ken Mackey on the way to his first feature victory of the season at Butler (Mi.) Speedway.
Mark Aldrich and Mike Burns started up front for the 25-lap winged sprint feature, while points leaders Mackey and Doug Zimmerman made up the second row. Aldrich took the early lead, while Mackey made his way to
second by the end of the opening lap. Three laps into the event Mackey would duck under Aldrich entering turn
1, and the nine-time track champ took off in the quest for his first feature victory of the 2010 season.
Meanwhile, Dalman was making a quick move to the front from a third-row starting spot and passed Aldrich for
second on a lap 4 restart, and then set sail for Mackey. Near the midway point of the event Dalman finally was
able to close in, and on the 18th circuit he attempted to go under Mackey on the backstretch, only to be
turned away. But a lap later Dalman made the same move, and this time was successful. He would lead the rest
of the way to record the win. Mackey was second at the checker, followed by Chad Blonde, Mark Broughman, and
Aldrich. The rest of the top 10 were Sean Robinson, Shelby Bilton, Jared Horstman, Aaron Smith, and Dan Hall.
Heat races in the winged sprints were won by Aldrich, Blonde, and Mackey. The ‘B’ Main went to Rocky LoPresto.

Butler Speedway Results – July 31, 2010
Winged Sprints
Feature: 1. 49t Gregg Dalman, 2. 25m Ken Mackey, 3. 1r Chad Blonde, 4. 52 Mark Broughman, 5. 1a Mark Aldrich,
6. 1 Sean Robinson, 7. 27 Shelby Bilton, 8. 17 Jared Horstman, 9. 38 Aaron Smith, 10. 11 Dan Hall, 11. 31j
Bill Jacoby, 12. 48 Greg Wheeler, 13. 55 Kirk Cheney, 14. 39 Gerry Hart, 15. 9q Ken Quimby, 16. 39jr Chad
Hart, 17. 12b Mike Baker, 18. 19 Doug Zimmerman, 19. 23 Chris Jones, 20. 57 Rocky LoPresto
Heat Winners: Mark Aldrich, Chad Blonde, Ken Mackey
‘B’ Main: Rocky LoPresto