Daggett Claims ASCS SOD Feature Win Record with Cherry Topper

By T.J. Buffenbarger

FIFE LAKE, Mich. (August 6, 2010) – Dustin Daggett won Friday night’s Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP feature event at Cherry Raceway. The victory moved Daggett past Hank Lower as the series leading feature winner. Daggett’s 72nd trip to victory lane in ASCS SOD competition was anything but easy due to the heavy racing surface that had the Mott Motor Sports crew scrambling all night.

“I have to give the credit to my crew tonight,” said Daggett in victory lane. “We don’t see tracks this heavy very often, and it seemed like changed bars and shocks all night. I think the win record is still sinking in, but it’s really cool.”

Ben Rutan and Joe Bares started on the pole for the 25-lap feature. After one lap of racing Rutan caught a bump and turned over in front of the entire field. Thankfully everyone missed Rutan’s overturned car, but the damage was too significant for Rutan to continue.

After the restart Bares then found himself in a battle of the lead with Gary Fast. While going through turns three and four Bares did a slow spin to bring out the caution flag. Bares restarted at the back of the field.

Fast held the lead after the restart, but Daggett was already charging through the pack from seventh starting spot up to third position. Then on lap seven Fast became another victim of bad luck at the front of the pack when his right front tire went down in turn two. Robert Huisken assumed the lead as Fast headed to the pit area under green.

Huisken assumed the top position and briefly pulled away from the field. After Daggett moved into second spot Huisken’s advantage quickly disappeared. Just after the halfway point int he feature Daggett moved past Huisken for the lead. From there Daggett blasted through slower traffic on his way to the victory. Huisken held on for second. Ryan Grubaugh charged from last starting spot cross the finish line in third position, but failed to go the scales after the feature and was scored in the last position. Brown, Gregg Dalman, and Tim Champlin rounded out the top five.

Huisken and Dalman won heat race events while Fast won the dash.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP Results
Friday August 6th, 2010
Cherry Raceway – Fife Lake, MI

Heat Races

Engler Machine and Tool Heat Race #1 (8 Laps): 1. 46 – Robert Huisken, 2. 26 – Gary Fast, 3. 91 – Joe Bares, 4. 07 – Jake Stebner, 5. 8 – Tim Champlin, 6. 55 – Kirk Cheney, 7. 187 – Gavin Hunyady, 8. 3w – Ryan Grubaugh.

Lane Automotive/Comp Cams Heat Race #2 (8 Laps): 1. 49t – Gregg Dalman, 2. 2m – Dustin Daggett, 3. 23 – Ben Rutan, 4. 10x – Davey Brown, 5. 70 – Jim Lingar, 6. 21 – Matt Lumbert, 7. 10 – Tracy Rice.

Total Seal Fast Car Dash presented by Gaerte Engines (4 Laps): 1. 26 – Gary Fast, 2. 46 – Robert Huisken, 3. 2m – Dustin Daggett, 4. 49t – Gregg Dalman.

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP “A” Main Event

“A” Feature (25 Laps): 1. 2m – Dustin Daggett, 2. 46 – Robert Huisken, 3. 10x – Davey Brown, 4. 49t – Gregg Dalman, 5. 8 – Tim Champlin, 6. 07 – Jake Stebner, 7. 91 – Joe Bares, 8. 187 – Gavin Hunyady, 9. 55 – Kirk Cheney, 10. 70 – Jim LIngar, 11. 21 – Matt Lumberts, 12. 26 – Gary Fast, 13. 10 – Tracy Rice, 14. 23 – Ben Rutan, 15. 3w – Ryan Grubaugh

Engine Pro ASCS Sprints on Dirt presented by ARP Point Standings (Top Ten):