Sean Becker Wins Again at Chico

silver dollar Speedway chico

From Nicole Benbow

(Chico, CA 8-20-10)… Sean Becker’s win in the 410 sprint main event solidified Becker’s success this season. Friday night’s win made it his fourth win of the year in his number 51 Cheery Street Mini Storage/ Dan’s Roofing sponsored car.

“We’ve been on a roll lately,” Becker said after winning.

The drivers put on quite a show for the main event race. On lap seven, the first caution was brought out when drivers Kevin Sharrah, Seth Nunes and Clint Wilson were stopped in turn four after a spin. Robbie Whitchurch lost the lead on lap number eight to Becker and Becker dominated the remainder of the race. Lap nine brought out the second caution of the race when Brad Bumgarner had issues coming out of turn four and drivers Tyler Wolf and Cody Lamer ran into him. There were several laps of great racing until on lap 21 the caution flag flew again for Bumgarner stopping in turn two. Then, on lap 22, Kody Smith brought out the final caution when his car stopped in turn two.

The three heat races of the night were full of car-flipping drama. In heat race one, Danielle Simpson underwent a scary flip on the first lap which brought out a temporary red flag. Mason Moore, in the number 15 car, won the first heat race of the night to the adoring crowds who were there to support Moore. On Sunday his cousin passed away.

During heat race two, Mark Hall suffered a devastating crash after flipping in turn three and landing upside down on the speedway while only one lap later, driver John Michael Bunch faced a similar scenario when he flipped in turn one. Fortunately, both drivers were able to walk away from the crashes. Sean McMahan ended up winning heat race two, while Sean Becker proved his car’s dominance by winning heat race three.

Jason York finished the night in fifth place, but had the fastest qualifying time of 11.587. He is the current point standings leader, but Tyler Wolf, Brett Miller and Mark Hall are all close behind.

Full results at