Monster Energy™ Sprint Car Series Blasts Off On Saturday!

By Bill W

April 18, 2011 – The time has almost arrived! The opener for the Monster Energy™ Sprint Series presented by the Midwest Open Wheel Association is upon us! This Saturday, April 23, will mark the series inaugural event and there is plenty for fans to get excited about. Over 35 drivers from six states and Australia have expressed their intentions on racing the series opener at the 34 Raceway in West Burlington, Iowa, and more are expected as the week goes on.

The lid lifter will be a clash of sorts with the best in Illinois taking on the best of the Knoxville Raceway regulars. Numerous championships and feature wins on both sides of the Mississippi River will be on hand. It has the makings of an unforgettable night for fans of sprint car racing!

Heading the card are a number of veterans capable of standing in Victory Lane anywhere in the country. Jim Moughan Jr., winner of over 130 career features will be on hand with a man he has dueled over the length of his career, Robbie Standridge. Defending Knoxville Raceway champion Brian Brown will be in the mix, along with 6-time Knoxville titlist, Terry McCarl.

Multi-time MASS champion Jerrod Hull looks to get his 410 season started off on the right foot. Hometown driver Josh Schneiderman is coming off a career year, and would like nothing more than to give his home crowd something to stand and scream about! Throw in young guns like two-time and defending Sprint Invaders champ, Kaley Gharst, Jacksonville champ, Korey Weyant, AJ Bruns, Robby Wolfgang, Rager Phillips, Jimmy Hurley, Ben Wagoner, and the list goes on and on (see below for tentative driver roster)!

34 Raceway promoter Amy Laue has added back through the purse ensuring each feature starter $300. The winner will take home $2,500. The 2011 Monster Sprint Series™ champion will not only win his share of the season points fund, but also a ride in the 2012 Chili Bowl with Indy Race Parts.

Pit gates open at 4:00 p.m., with Grandstands opening at 5:00 pm.. Time trials start at 7 p.m. Pit Passes are $25, with Grandstand Admission $18 for Adults, $15 for Seniors and Students. Kids 10 and under are FREE.

Stay tuned throughout the week for some exciting announcements concerning the event!

To check out more information on the Rules and Procedures, Drivers, Schedules, Updates and More for the Monster Energy Sprint Car Series, visit the series’ website at!

Meet Your Favorite Drivers and get FREE Lunch at O’Reilly Auto Parts Saturday From 11:00 a.m. to 1 p.m.!

The O’Reilly Auto Parts, Monster Energy Drink, Pepsi sponsored MOWA 410 Outlaw Sprint Shootout will kick off with a Drivers Meet-n-Greet at the Burlington O’Reilly’s Auto Part Store from 11:00 am to 1:00 p.m. with a free lunch and Pepsi products! Several of the drivers competing on Saturday are expected to attend the event. O’Reilly Auto Parts can be found at 123 Roosevelt Ave (Hwy 61) in Burlington.

Tentative Driver Roster for Saturday’s Race (subject to change)!

1, Mitch Wissmiller, Saybrook, IL

1, Jayson Ditsworth, Gladstone, IL

1m, Jim Moughan Jr., Springfield, IL

2, Josh Higday, Des Moines, IA

3, Matt Sutton, Macomb, IL

7K, Robby Wolfgang, Sioux Falls, SD

10, Rager Phillips, Pleasantville, IA

10s, Jeremy Standridge, Springfield, IL

12, Jerrod Hull, Sikeston, MO

12, Brian Rieck, Troy, MO

12, Lynton Jeffrey, Prairie City, IA/Sydney, NSW, Aust.

14P, Kaley Gharst, Decatur, IL

17A, Austin McCarl, Altoona, IA

21, Brian Brown, Grain Valley, MO

21x, Joey Moughan, Springfield, IL

23, Robbie Standridge, Springfield, IL

28, Justin Springer, Pekin, IL

35, Jimmy Hurley, Springfield, IL

38, Wayne Johnson, Knoxville, IA

42, Cory Bruns, Lincoln, IL

44, AJ Bruns, Lincoln, IL

47, Brett Samonds, Springfield, IL

49, Josh Schneiderman, West Burlington, IA

51J, Ryan Jamison, Mediapolis, IA

52F, Logan Faucon, Elkhart, IL

53H, Matt Harms, Lacon, IL

55, Terry McCarl, Altoona, IA

65, Jordan Goldesberry, Springfield, IL

71R, Ryan Anderson, Deloit, IA

77u, Chris Urish, Elkhart, IL

81, Austin Johnson, Shakopee, MN

83, Korey Weyant, Springfield, IL

84, Ben Wagoner, Emden, IL

95, Tommy Rockwell, Towanda, IL

96, Nathan Charron, Lincoln, IL

98, JC Bland, Springfield, IL

99, Jimmy Davies, Oquawka, IL

Monster Energy™ Sprint Series Drivers Interviewed Online

Dewain Hulett of Tri-State Speed Review sat down with three MOWA drivers (Joey Moughan, JC Bland, Ben Wagoner) and 34 Raceway promoter Amy Laue for some in depth interviews at the following link…

Check Out Our Promo Video!

Check out our preview video for the series provided by Ross Wece at the following link!

2011 Monster Energy™ Sprint Car Series Tentative Schedule

Saturday, April 23 – 34 Raceway – $2,500 to win (West Burlington, IA)

Friday, May 13 – Jacksonville Speedway (Jacksonville, IL)

Friday, May 27 – Fayette County Speedway (Brownsville, IL)

Friday, July 1 – Jacksonville Speedway – $2,500 to win Leon Smith Memorial (Jacksonville, IL)

Friday, July 8 – Lincoln Speedway (Lincoln, IL)

Sunday, July 31 – Shepp’s Speedway (Alexander, IL)

Friday, August 19 – Jacksonville Speedway (Jacksonville, IL)

Friday, September 2 – Lincoln Speedway (Lincoln, IL)

Saturday, September 17 – Spoon River Speedway – Tom Knowles Memorial (Canton, IL)

Saturday, September 24 – 34 Raceway – $4,000 to win (West Burlington, IA)

Friday, September 30 – Jacksonville Speedway – Season Championship (Jacksonville, IL)