2011 usac cra old
2011 usac cra

By Lance Jennings

SANTA MARIA, CA – JUNE 13, 2011… When the Amsoil USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series return to Santa Maria on Saturday, June 18th, fans and racers are in for a treat. Track promoter Chris Kearns, in partnership with Rugged Radios of San Luis Obispo have produced a special “Last Man Standing Trophy Dash.”

The format for the special $1000 winner-take-all event is simple. The top 4 qualifiers that transfer out of the heat races are eligible to compete. The drivers will pick a pill for their starting position in a 4 car / 4-lap dash. Once completed, the last place finisher is eliminated and the 3 remaining cars battle in a 3-lap shootout. The third place car will be retired and the last round will have the two remaining drivers compete in a 2-lap sprint. The winner will claim the $1000 top prize.

The Santa Maria event is co-sanctioned with the new USAC Western Racing Classic Series. USAC/CRA is led by Yorba Linda’s Matt Mitchell who won the “Salute To Indy” at Perris Auto Speedway on May 28th. Mitchell is followed by Temecula’s Mike Spencer, Yorba Linda’s Blake Miller, David Cardey of Riverside, Visalia’s Greg Bragg, Torrance’s Rickie Gaunt, and Nic Faas of Huntington Beach.

The USAC Western Racing Classic Series is led by Lincoln’s Tony Hunt who scored the “Al Pombo Classic” victory last Saturday night at Madera Speedway. Hunt is followed by Scott Pierovich of Alamo, Fresno’s Audra Sasselli, Clovis’ Luis Ramos III, Fair Oaks’ Shauna Hogg, and Sebastapol’s Geoff Ensign in the point chase.

Local 360 iron-block powered Sprint Cars are welcome to race with USAC/CRA. The 360s can run their local approved tires (all four corners must be Hoosier), but must meet series tech standards and race track muffler rules. The Amsoil USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series does not have an entry fee or charge for transponders, but drivers must have one-way radios. In addition, the series is offering a bonus to the highest finishing 360 team. To be eligible for the $200 cash award from USAC and 20 gallons of methanol from So-Cal Performance, the owner or driver must have a current USAC membership.

Santa Maria Speedway is located 1/4-mile north of the 101/166 interchange at 1900 Hutton Road in Nipomo, California. Also on the Saturday card will be the Toste Construction Mini Stocks, American/Enduro Stocks, and USAC Ford Focus Midgets. Adult tickets are $20, Senior, Military, and Student tickets (13-17) are $18, Kids tickets (6-12) are $6, and Children’s tickets (5 and under) are FREE. The Pit Gate will open at 8:00am, Front Gates open at 4:00pm, Time Trials at 5:00pm, with Racing to begin at 6:00pm. For more event information, visit the track’s website at www.racesantamariaspeedway.com or call (805) 922-2232.

The Amsoil USAC/CRA Sprint Car Series would like to thank Hoosier Tire, Circle Track Performance, Competition Suspension Inc., DJ Safety, Donovan Engineering, Electro Tech Powder Coating, Extreme Mufflers, Hilborn Fuel Injection, Huntington Beach Glass & Mirror, Keizer Wheels, Saldana Racing Products, Sander Engineering, and So-Cal Performance for their support. For more information, visit usacracing.com/cra or follow the series on facebook.

1. Matt Mitchell 290; 2. Mike Spencer 279; 3. Blake Miller 277; 4. David Cardey 259; 5. Greg Bragg 244; 6. Rickie Gaunt 223; -. Nic Faas 223; 8. Austin Williams 191; 9. Cody Williams 154; 10. Rip Williams 153; 11. Jace VanderWeerd 147; 12. Richard VanderWeerd 135; 13. David Bezio 131; 14. Cory Kruseman 112; 15. Greg Alexander 107; –. Ronnie Gardner 107; 17. Danny Sheridan 94; 18. Rodney Argo 90; 19. Cody Kershaw 77; 20. Bud Keading 68.

1. Tony Hunt 229; 2. Scott Pierovich 216; 3. Audra Sasselli 182; 4. Luis Ramos III 160; -. Shauna Hogg 160; -. Geoff Ensign 160; -. Brian McClish 160; 8. Jerry Kobza 153; -. Tim Barber 153; 10. Cody Gerhardt 151; 11. Tim Skoglund 138; 12. Gordon Rodgers 114; 13. Andy Forsberg 94; 14. Don Emory 73; 15. Kyle Hirst 65; 16. Colby Copeland 59; 17. Brent Keading 56; –. Marvin Mitchell 56; 19. Bill Logan 51; –. Scott Hall 51.

June 17th – Watsonville, CA – Ocean Speedway
June 18th – Santa Maria, CA – Santa Maria Speedway